Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:59 p.m. - 2009-02-14
Needs, needs, needs...
First off what is on my mind is this. I've decided that something must change about everyday language and this is what it is. Whenever someone starts to say "You need to do this or that" then some process should automatically kick in and make the words "It would behoove you to" come out instead! Really, wouldn't that be a lot more fun to say? Let's all say it---Behoove!

Ah, that feels better.

SO. We went in to Philadelphia today, because we didn't have our act together enough to go to D.C this weekend. Biba was alternately happy or weepy (she must be overtired as weepy really isn't like her) but all in all she had a good time. She said "I have so much to tell my class on Tuesday!"

We saw the Liberty Bell first, then we took a carriage ride, then to the Free Quaker's Meeting House, then we saw Ben Franklin's grave. People throw pennies on to it because of Franklin's saying "A penny saved is a penny earned". Well if you throw them on a grave, then a penny thrown is a penny blown, or a penny tossed is a penny lost. Anyway.

Then we went to the visitor's center, and then it really was time for a late lunch so we went to the City Tavern. Servers wear Colonial garb, and the cuisine is delicious. Because of my mother, I could tell the differences in the way that things were prepared. I don't know if they were deliberately trying for a Colonial taste but they deffo got it in the oysters that I had. Oh, and can I tell you about the beeer?! Washington's porter was incredible and Franklin's Spruce (was it an ale?) was deffo interesting enough to buy. Yard's is their brewer, and I love everything that they brew that I've tried.

After lunch we saw the Carpenter's Guild and interesting architecture. Biba was getting tired and cross so we drove into Chinatown but the Hello Kitty store didn't look like a must see, so we just went home. Biba immediately nodded off to the Casa Della Zonko, which is Ned's way of saying that she went to sleep.

We came home and had cocktail hour instead of dinner and played Biba's Picnic Game and La Scopa. All in all a grand day. Oh, Ned got me chocolate from where I was born, which was quite a surprise. I didn't know if they were still in business. Sort of obscure. Oh, and we saw a lot of hawks, lawks!

That is all.

Happy VD, kittens!


5 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!