Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

10:27 p.m. - 2008-06-06
Best School Trip Ever!
I went nominally as a chaperone on Biba's school outing today. To the zoo, zoo, zoo! How about you, you, you?

I am drinking Malbec Maipe right now. After a very long day. First off we were runnung a bit late, but I managed to not swear in front of Biba. Much. I did say "damn it" but it turns out that there was a very late person. ( That sentence made no sense!) We did have to cool our heels. We took a school bus! I don't remember if they had safety belts in school bussen when I was younger because I didn't bus very much, but they deffo have them now. I sort of zonked on the ride too, but Biba did as well. I deffo woke up when she shouted "A hot-air balloon!!" in my ear. It was the Zoo Balloon. I shall take the ride in it one day.

The Philadelphia Zoo bills itself as America's First Zoo. I do not exactly know if that is true but I would believe it as there are very many charming buildings such as the Small Mammal House. I know, I have heard both sides of the zoo argument both pro and con and I can see both, and I fall somewherein the middle. I am not for gratuitous caging, and this zoo is giving up the elephants to larger spaces. One has left already for a sanctuary. And there are many endangered species breeding programs. At any rate, there have been modernisations but the character is apparent.

Biba was desparate to see a "boa constructor" so we found the reptile house. She was enthralled! She was an excellent creature-spotter as well. She had a ride on a Belgian (draft horse) and a camel. I did appreciate that there was a veterinarian monitoring the camels for signs of fatigue. At first Biba and I were on our own but we joined the Rooks and the Smallers. And I must say, Mrs. Rook's parenting techniques (or what passes for them) SUCK!!! There are a pair of twins, if you recall, and Biba simply adores the girl, who is a raging bitch in the making. Her mother allows her to run roughshod all over her brother. The "Stop it , Honey" and never enforces it type of bullshit. I do rather like that word...) When the boy elbowed his bitch of a sister (she was teasing him mercilessly until he cried, and when told to stop she said "But I like it")! Can you imagine!) I was set to cheer. And she thinks that her SON is the problem? More likely it is she. Bah!

Although I must confess that Biba informed me that she wished that she was in another family. I am the Meanest Mum---I wouldn't let her stand or sit on the rails, I wouldn't let her climb the fences, and I made her obey the rules of the zoo and the rules of common courtesy. I did tell her that that was a rude and hurtful thing to say but I knew that she didn't really mean it. And I really did keep a straight face!

As for the Smallers, I simply adore them! Even moreso after today. Their son is Biba's age, in fact he is the one who accidentally biffed Biba in the eye. His little sister looks just exactly like one of his Mums but was carried by the other as I remember quite clearly. For once I didn't pry. I know, I shocked myself as well.

Well all in all it really was a lovely day, and we got home in time to in Biba's case play with her schoolhouse and her cats, and do a little bit of painting, and in my case to do all reasonable cooking to last the next few days. They will be abominably hot, but I can take it. Just not in the kitchen! Though that opened window ought to make things easier. I had gotten some of the thicker-stemmed asparagus so I steamed that, and cooked salad shrimp (they really are different from prawns, but I can't explain how. Tougher, perhaps. Not in a bad way.) OH, and I used the spinach in this ridiculously easy fish dish (hee, rhyme) that I make. A glass baking dish lined with a huge amount of raw spinach, but smaller leaves work better. Plop on some white fish (I used flounder) and top with either diced tomatoes and spices OR--tonight I had two tins of hoppin' John, which is something like tomatoes, black-eyed-peas, chiles, and that is about all that I can remember) and a big layer of asagio and then foil it over and bake at a reasonable temperature until the fish flakes when poked and the spinach is well wilted. It is simply delicious and even my Da likes it.

My, this malbec is delicious! More, please!

OH! FUN! I went to see the seeded bulb bed this morning and nothing really but this evening? Sprouts by the bushel! And the cilantro has revised its attitude to "cheerful" so that is encouraging. Why then, can I not get my back garden infested with chamomile? I bought three new stepping stones to erase all traces of artistry that completely fell flat. Also a big tub. I thought to plant carrots to see if they would work, but also basil just in case. Honestly I don't really care if nothing grows as long as I have given it a shot.

Oh, in passing, Swimmmy, how did I ever miss that third "m"? I wonder if there is a story behind it...

And Ravers, I am wishing for brilliant strokes of goods luck to come your way...

And all of you out there, how would I do without your stories and messages? Thank you to all of you!


4 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!