Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:48 p.m. - 2010-09-27
The year of doing things differently.
This year's festival, we were thinking that we felt more mellow, or actually somewhat apathetic. Normally, I'd might have simply tuned halfway out and had a good time. But I decided to do things differently. Oh yes, and it worked. We listened to bands that had not actually made it onto our radar, I ate different food rahther than the usual things that I eat this once every year. We did different things at different times, and it really added up to freshness and a sense of renewal.

On to the bands. (I won't mention those which failed to impress, because that wouldn't be very nice, would it.) The first that I'll mention, this one was deffo on the radar. They are so much fun. Swimmmy, this is the one that I feel as if you'd really like. A friend's daughter is one of the fiddlers, as a bonus, but they are really brilliant and have excellent stage presence in their own right. They've done awfy well, and if you all can ever catch them, it's be worth your time and trouble.

The next one, this one was completely brilliant, and was Ned's top Must Not Miss. And you will simply adore them if the pan-Celtic scene does not bore you past tears. (I know, shocking, but some people cannot abide anything even remotely Celtic. Too twee and high-diddly-diddly, I'm told...) At any rate, they were captivating and really knew their stuff.

Bua were again brilliant, and most enjoyable. Basically, they can do no wrong, at least not in my book!

Here is my surprise revelation music for this year. This man was no less than genius. Soooo much talent, and he really is a very nice and kind man. And talented in a way that I've never seen before. He had a drummer with him, let me look him up. Well, bugger it all, I couldn't get what I wanted on him but he's a NI snare drummer, Mark Wilson, and he was technical perfection, and soul as well. That show was my high point. I felt very soothed and calmed by them. Yes, indeed, soothed and calmed by pipes and drums. This drummer was a drummer/philosopher!

Ned got a kick out of these dudes but he does every year. He always finds new songs for his bar gigs. The are quite popular with the people, and I find them quite entertaining.

Other things that I did differently. List Form.

1. Ned stopped us just short of our destination to get small snackage and a Road Pepsi as well, that one for me. It was because Biba and I tend to have meltdowns and Ned thinks that it is because we don't eat when our blood sugar is low.

2. We ate breakfast the Saturday at the hotel. Usually we go to The Bagel Place, and we did on Sunday.

3. I ate a turkey leg because they look so Henry XIII, and I'd been thinking about trying one for two years. Deffo worth it, didn't need dinner, and won't do it again. Usually I eat shrimp bisque in a bread boule.

4. We packed rum as well as whisky. I went through a lot of the rum.

5. Saturday afternoon late, I always get Crowd Rage. People wander about, slooooooowly, heads tucked securely up arse, and oh, don't forget the dead stop, always with no warning, nor visible reason. So I went back to the hotel and poured a drink. A strong one. Made it back through the crowds without incident and felt a bit smug.

6. Really---drank quite a bit more than usual. No regrets. Actually, I'm thirsty right now, but it is water that I want.

7. Did not spend all of my money on gifts for others. Some of it, but some spending was quite selfish. Felt good, though!

In other news...

Rain! Rain is here today. Perhaps tomorrow as well. We need it so much. I do hope that we get a bit more. Looks to be a rainy week, and that is all right with me!

Pee Ess Remind me to tell you about the Dwarf Bread, Combat Loaf form...


3 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!