Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

10:08 p.m. - 2009-10-18
Did it!
Oh yes, mes amis, I made it through!

Bluey, I would have dearly loved to go to the gallery opening but I had no time and I didn't actually know the artist, so it was all right. Still, you know how I feel about making art!

Swimmmy, I play bodhran ( the Irish frame drum, pronounced BAW-rahwn, like cow-brawn), tin whistle, guitar, and I sing. Who knows, you may have already heard/seen me play...

SO!

The concert was incredible!!!! The space was a beautiful space with thee most magnificent acoustics. I am very, very "at home" in that space. We had a wonderful crowd, as well. Everyone was very appreciative. I also got to hear some friends play whom I have never actually gotten the chance to hear, so that was a treat.

I was not a solo act, but rahther, five of us. I was bodhran and singing only. I did one song. Now, you know how I've been feeling about music lately. As if whenever I sing, it is a cue for people to start a conversation with their nabe, go get a bevvie, take a little nap...and there were some people there who are friends, but are never EVER impressed with what I do because you know, not legit, not musical theater blahblahblah, but so what. Well, last night they actually gushed to me about my performance. I was gobsmacked.

I did sing just one song, but I have to say, I was really surprised by it. Ned accompanied me on (Irish) bazouki (how the handjob DOES one spell that word!) and it felt as if my voice just went soaring out there finding whoever needed to hear it. I do thank God for that! Also, many people praised my drumming. One of the Skeptics said that it drove and tied the whole thing together which was very generous, but deffo untrue. My style is not the old quietly moving the hand about and slappy tipping. I am much more like a Border Collie with a drum. I deffo have a driving style, but I know when to back off, and when to let my drum roar. I love making interesting and varied rhythms, and I am rock solid in timing. ( Not to be proud, just grateful!) Lately I have been really working the head to go up and down scale. Some people put in that thing, what is it, sort of like a whammy bar for the drum, but I deffo like to avoid that. I don't even have a keyed Low D whistle, even though I can't exactly reach the lowest hole or two.

Here are the things that I did forget about. The flashes. Really, one could go blind. But forch, there were dancers in the back so I kept my eyes on them. I love when dancers happen. It quite lifts the heart. Also, I had forgetten about how if you do a meet and mingle, the shyness. I look like a stunned bovine, murmuring "Thank you so much" and "You are too kind, really" when I really rahther desperately wish that I could come up with something witty or memorable to say. Ah well, never say that I am complaining. I sometimes feel as if I were considered aloof though, and really I am not. Simply socially awkward...

The rest of the weekend, though, went well. When I delivered the savouries to the gallery, Biba flung herself at the woman whom I had been in contact with and hugged her so! It turns out that the woman is a substitute teacher at Biba's school. It was a glimpse into Biba's life, the part that I don't get to see. So that was nice. Biba had a wonderful time at both parties that she attended. It seems as if the thing to do is now is to do a craft project, and the project is the party favour.

Heavens, this is becoming a novel! Well, although I did get eight hours of sleep last night I could deffo use more. No Ork for me tomorrow, so I have a good chance at a nap, don't you think?


3 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!