Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

6:27 a.m. - 2008-11-10
Holidette, celebrette!
What a brilliant thing our holidette turned out to be!I really hadn't had any doubts but that is when the goofy things crop up, isn't it?

Thursday we rahther goofed off on the way down, shopping and that sort of thing. We got Pikesville Rye for everyone---1.75 gallons in all. I think that it is in gallons here. Actualy, I haven't really checked. At any rate, Pikesville is out of Heaven Hill, I think, and you can only find it in MD to buy. At any rate, we got to the Island after dinner. HAH! And our suite was hysterically big! Seemed a city block long!

Friday was brill, weather was perfect. We got the canoe in the water and spent between six and seven hours on the water. Were we at sixes and sevens? Heeee...We saw a lot of bird life. Loons! We saw loons! That is my fav-o-riffic bird! Biba was fairly well behaved. Can't really fault her for being bored out of her skull, I always was. We went to a friends' house for dinner and that was really lovely.

Saturday started out with lovely weather so we rented some bicycles and went for a ride on Assateague. Went to the lighthouse, etc. Biba adores Visitor's Centres, so we stopped there. Just as we returned the bicycles, it began to rain. We went then to the Oyster Museum. A very silly wee place with an atrocious odor. Well, perhaps not as bad as all that. Biba liked it. Then at the park there was a Pow Wow! Brave dancers danced in the rain. The White Buffao Drum Group ( just how many are named "White Buffalo", anyway?) sang and at one point later, since we could hear them from our suite, I heard them singing and a loon wailed. Not the tremolo, but the howly thing. I bought some beaded skunk earrings, and they are now my pride and joy! As far as earrings go, that is.

Yesterday we went to a little church on the mainland and that was nice. We knew a person who sort of works there. I was not paying the best attention, as the man in front of me had some really spectacular ear hair. I really, really wanted to take a pencil and play with it. Then, a ladybug appeared on his neck. Brill! See how mature I am?

We got home last night in time to go out to dinner at the place down the street where we haven't been in a while. It was good, though, and reset from the bad experiance of nearly a year ago...Or so. I had two whiskey sours and I was HICCUPPING down the street on the way home. I got to catch up somewhat on you all, but OH, have you all been busy!

The end.


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!