Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

11:12 p.m. - 2008-10-25
Not what I was expecting
Well, it was a rainy day, so we didn't get to take the canoe to the shore. Any sane person wouldn't have taken the canoe anywhere. We took it out. We actually took it over, if you know what I mean. There was a difficult portage at construction, and they had meant to make it easy, but the footing was just slick. Well, getting in was a distaster. We both went in the water and Ned lost his hat. A shame that. I ought to by rights offer him my Petty Harbour hat but I just can't bring myself to do it. At any rate, there were some sunny and warm spots but we ended up portageing the canoe home in a torrent. But it was fun, in a way. I am grateful that Ned and I don't believe in playing the Blame Game. That is so pointless and destructive.

We went out to dinner in the next town up. A really quaint place, featured in an old musical. A song. Well, whatevs. At any rate the ownership has changed somewhat recently, and whoever the new chef is ought to be soundly kissed! Magnificent cuisine! The wine list was quite flexible and they had Chimay on tap! Double hooray!

But do you know something? When we got home from canoeing, we stripped off in the kitchen, and went up to shower. I decided that an early apero would be just the thing and we opened a bottle of Biale zin. And one glass had me kneewalking drunnk! What in the world is up with that?!!! I recovered, though. We had to go get the car and walk Mr. Dog and things like that.

Friday was kind of a rough one, in some ways. I find that surrendering to events in the face of uncertainty is hard. I've been doing a lot of soul-searching and planning lately. Still, I don't know what it all means. Perhaps that is not important.


1 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!