Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

8:27 p.m. - 2008-04-20
Stuff and nonsense...
Oh! What a brilliant weekend! The weather was so warm and Springlike! The smell of the first grasses filled the air and the onions! The wild Spring onions! They smell so pungent and green! The sun was warm and the breezes were mild. The birds were in ecstasy, judging by all the singing that was going on!

Yesterday...hmmm, the restaurant was as blah as ever, and even Ned said that perhaps I might have told him that we could just look about and then leave. But he really seemed keen on going so who am I to crush a hope, no matter how small or...misguided! We're hosting a big party for some people else there. No accounting for taste, but it does have its charm. Who cares about the food anyway? Oh, that's right we All do!

We went in to P'ton to pick up Biba and we all went out to lunch after church. There is this little teeny tiny Southwestern place and all the food is so delicious that it is really difficult to choose. Half of mine awaits me eating it for breakfast tomorrow, if I don't forget! We came back and after a few bits and bobs to put straight, it was time that I was to actually run the sewing machine for the first time. It was already threaded so I made a blanket for Sparkleworks, Biba's baby. That was all fine, so I pinned out a pattern for some 1940s tap pants on some golden yellow satin that I found at an antique shop yesterday. Then I sat down to wind the bobbin. Oh, my. What a fewkin' ORDEAL!!! It took me a million tries and I had to call Ned's mum and my sister to get them to talk me down, and finally I said "Well, I'll try ten more times, then I will put the machine away and try again another time." Well, I really do not know what I did , but it wasn't according to the manual and some was deffo not "right" ( because the "right" way was breaking the thread) but the bobbin wound, and even more, the bobbin thread was already elevated and ready to go. I sewed a really short seam on some rubbish flannel, and then I put the machine away as to leave on a positive note. Well, my gorgeous neighbour a few doors down said that his machine was really hard to learn on as well, and that the bobbin winding is deffo the hardest part. This man is so gorgeous that if I were single, I'd envy his boyfriend. But then HE is so incredibly cute as well!

So, lesson learned is that bobbins, although necessary, suck. Hey, what a new insult, "SUCK MY BOBBINS!!!!" Hah!

We had smorgasbord tonight and I did get to clean out the big cold thing in the kitchen as well. Not much, nor enough to make a difference.

The big Rabbit Festival is this coming up weekend and we are going to sell some bits and bobs at a table in front of our house. Biba has toys and books that she doesn't use, so why not. I have a friend (remember the organic sharepartner of last Summer? ) who will bring a table over and sell as well. I think that a handy gimmick will be to have plenty of carrry bags so that people can buy and schlep easily. Biba is deffo all excited about the festival, so we'll be taking her down to see it. She is old enough this year.We've missed the past two.

To end, (perhaps) you know how I've been on a lingerie-buying spree? Well, I found thee most devastating bra, and so for our date last night I took it for a spin. Holy CRAP! to quote BiBi. It is a magic bra. I am in good shape (huhhuhhuh so to speak) but this is a magic bra! I had lethal weapons last night! It is as if a bullet bra and a modern bra has a baby. Incroyable!

Enough of that blether. Tomorrow I have a light schedule so I shall most likely get tons of things done. Then I shall drone on endlessly here about them!

Oh, did I mention that we got the dreaded "head lice" notice from Biba's school? No sign of the little bastards yet...


1 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!