Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

5:53 p.m. - 2008-06-23
Recap, Redcap, what's the diff?
Oh, my, you'd never guess how encrabenated that Biba is! She must still be knackered from the weekend, although she doesn't know it and would never admit it. I will allow some leeway, but there is no excuse for total rudeness and a big scene. That goes for me as well!

SO. The first out-of-towners came in on Friday, at least that I know of. My parents even flew in, in fact my whole bio-fam was there. Most of Ned's. First was Biba's graduation from her first school. She got to hold the flag and lead the Pledge. She was soooo cute! Even though I feel this whole K graduation thing is ridiculous, that didn't stop me from getting all choked up and weepy. I still haven't checked my camera to see how whatever shots I took came out. There was a big picnic after so we stayed because it will be the last for Biba here at this school.

We were meant to have had then a pre-party party at the Casa Dlla Bon Bon but plans kept changing. I may as well admit that it was actually more than a mere Solstice party, but I really don't wish to elaborate. At any rate that was all right and then things began to fall into place just perfectly. My sister and I had a few things to do Saturday morning, including a blow-out for me, and a mani-pedi for her. The flowers were TREEEE-mendous! I simply cannot believe how beautifully that they turned out to be. I had asked for feather butterflies to be added as well so that the little girls could have them. My sister got the cake and she really did get quite a low quote for it, and that baker hammered that home to my sister, but I say well, then watch your quotes! It turned out beautifully but who eats cake anyway so there is a ton in my sister's freezer.

The musicians were really glorious. It is really difficult if you are musicians to get music for any affair, as usually the ones that you know you want as guests. We got not only brilliant musicians but also new friends as well! We will indeed write glorious referrals or whatever they are called. We just had them sit down to dinner with us as I really cannot stand when people hire musicians then treat them like dirt. UGH! My sister and I had to sing, but we were able to keep it to one song each. I did improvise some words as I feel that rude lyrics are always more entertaining than the originals. Oh, and there was dancing. SO much! I started it off by grabbing two little girls and having us do a Summer dance. Dance in a circle and all ballet arms and all that. But that did break the ice so there was tons of dancing. Food, that was indifferent, but who cares about that anyway.

Next morning anyone who could make it to church came to the one we go to. We were all fairly well Anglicans anyway, but that was rahther nice to have more family in the pews. We had a brunch at the Casa Della Bon Bon after, and I must say I was grateful for the Mimosas. Trite, but hair of the dog, and all that. Much easier than Bellinis. And the food was deeelicioous!

Eveyone was very well behaved except for when they oughtn't have had to, so that was rahther good. Bit of a clean-up after brunch and all had left. As of this morning I think that everyone had gotten home. Well, or wherever they were staying or visiting as long as they were in the country.

SO, that's a bit about that. And I am glad that it is over, glad that it was glorious, and glad that my schedule looks almost empty for the next little while.

Oh, and can you believe it, I did forget my camera. If there was any press to speak of I'll link if I remember. Well, you know that we are all really bad about ink, really can't be bothered to look for it. Even my Mum now, these days!

SO. So. Must run now, I am chasing after normalcy!


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!