Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

12:28 a.m. - 2010-06-27
Home!
We drove home from NC all in one shot today. It really was not all that difficult, but it did take roughly 13 hours. Deffo worth it,though. Purry Cat just climbed off from my shoulder. He is allowing me to write. Kind of him!

Well, first off, might I just mention how completely repulsed that I am by SIL and her husband. "Ugh" does not even begin to cover it. I actually did mention to her mother that I would never guess that she was her daughter in a million years, having such a different value system. I know that MIL feels responsible for SIL's differentness, but really, I don't see that as the case. SIL makes her choices.

SO. We checked in to the motel down the way. A brilliant place, clean and spare, perfect for a fisherman. No telephone, no clock even! But a tele, micro, and refrige(oh bother, I'll never be able to spell that word...)and a brilliant view. A slip to tie up the canoe into. We checked in Sunday night and took Ned's parents to dinner as it was Father's Day. Ned's father tried to pay for our stay but I had rahther thought that he would try and so I gave strict orders not to let him. He does so much already. And as an aside, if I pay, I make the rules. I know that I am hard, but that is just me. And I simply adore my in-laws. I can't imagine how lucky that I am to have them.

We did canoe a few times and they were brilliant. A sunset paddle on rougher seas, but fun. A morning paddle to the sandbar, where I found a picked-clean barracuda jawbone. Another paddle where we saw skates or rays, whatever they were, Ospreys, spitting oysters, fish, jumping fish! Wheee!, crabs, many many of them, well, so many life forms. (huh huh huh, I sounded like Star Trek...) By the dock on the sound Biba and I saw so many different kinds of crabs-now I deffo know why they are called Blue Crabs-and we saw shrimp, live shrimp! and a green heron, and fish, and spiny urchins. I saw in the sea starfish, and found many sharks teeth. Ned is actually the expert at that.

It was brilliant to wake up, throw on a cossie, and a tee shirt and then just go out exploring. Ned and I took alternate days. I took Biba with me once but she decided that sleep was much nicer. We did a wee bitty shopping but discovered that our shop that turns beach finds into jewelry is closed forever. Biba and I shall simply learn to make our own, then.

SIL and her husband were simply awful. He is a liar who is full of hot air. Really not interested in the children, forch. But he would march about in board shorts, moobs a-flappin', big sunburnt stomach bouncing all about. He laid out on the deck bench with a giant boner. Can you imagine! I know that he really tried but I can never really trust him, and frankly, I would never be interested in a friendship with him under any circumstances. His stories are all contradictory, and sound like so much bushwah. SIL is at best irresponsible and inappropriate. Yet her autistic son is doing so well, and I give her full credit for that. Her older son though, is most likely suffering because of that. He is the sweetest child, and I really wish him well. SIL really didn't seem too interested at all in where her children were, what they were doing, and who they were with. Shit fire and damn, I find her quite reprehensible. Not to mention that she wore barely there bikinis, but really, not the body for it at all. Not to be too critical, but there was a LOT of unsupervised body bouncing about. It was just skanky, not family friendly. Granted, I will wager that I have a bit of a matronly tendency in cossies, except for the one of the Confederate flag. BIL wanted to take a pic of me (can you imagine!) and POST IT ON HIS WEBSITE!!!!!! Can you imagine!!!! We had to read him the riot act.

They were just really inappropriate and they made me quite uncomfortable. I simply cannot image how SIL turned out so completely different from the in-laws. I love my in-laws, and Ned, so there is much, much, much that I simply cannot say, but only think. Still, we may need never to see them ever again! One can only hope.

This morning before we left, the sound was so beautiful, with calm water, tide coming in and a slightly overcast sky. I saw a huge ray or skate, and my first live jellyfish, I think. You'd think that I would have seen more of them in all of my time near the sea.

Well, we made delicious seafood and really did have some wonderfully good times. It was a veree satisfying holiday, and although it took a bit of time to decompress, I do believe that tomorrow will be brill. Although bloody hot...

Our house is almost all of the way painted. The blueberries are still not ripe. The sunflowers have burst into bloom. Oh, and I did not take a single picture, can you imagine?!


5 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!