Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

3:22 p.m. - 2012-05-09
Where does the time go? Really...where?
Well, the sleepover on the battleship was a combination of brill, and Unwell, if you see where I am going with this.

1. Brilliant drive down, saw the old sights, as I used to live in that basic area for a year.

2. Biba did NOT want to go on the simulator ride, so I suppose that the one at Air and Space was quite enough for her.

3. The view of Philly was brilliant, and if I ever download anything ever, anymore, as it were, if you please, as you like it (nice tangent, eh?!) then you shall see it as well.

4. There are no toilets onboard the ship. Only heads. So of course I had to announce that I was toileting off toward the head. My version of L'envers...

5. We slept in bunks stacked three high and they were called racks, and there was only about maybe a foot of clearance if you were lying down. SO now I know where the command "roll in" and "roll out" come from. One literally does.

6. It is somewhat like being a dog. You are tagged (the girls got dogtags) and sent here and there, and when they feed you, you get a tray of whatever they give you. You choices are "take it" or "leave it" but considering that you won't get anything else until breakfast, the first is the better option.

7. We had a tough, pseudo-mean dude, old and crusty to take us on our tour. I was glad to get him, and he gave us a tiny taste of what real Marine life was like.

*. One of our girls got to fire the signal cannon. I was glad that it was not me.

9. The had a representative USO show, and the singers were quite good, and quite patient, but some of the girls where quite rude, and the parents and leaders made no move to quiet them. So I did. The Girl Scout sign, held high, actually works. For about a minute.

10. The poor singers had to resort to singing TayTay songs from their karaoke machine

11. Here comes the Unwell part. It was time for bed. And I get somewhat claustrophobic. But I am one of the leaders. So no Freeeeekin Out for me.

12. I finally got some sleep at 4:30. I dreamed veree strange dreams. Some that didn't seem that they were even mine.

13. One of the other mums had a panic attack, but she did it silently and got through all right.

14. 7am was so welcome! We got up, had breakfast, and then a fascinating presentation on women in the Services through the ages. Very well done.

15. I gave Biba the option for more ship touring, or going to the Aquarium, but she just wanted to go home. I was all right with that.

16. So that...was fun.


Gotta run...you don't know how much I hope that I post sooner rahther than later.

Ecks Oh!


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!