Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

8:58 a.m. - 2012-03-12
The stomach bug strikes again...
Yikes!

Yes, it is quite colourful here lately. Biba started us off and I expect that Ned will soon fall.

I am in the middle, in that wretched place where I know that the worst may have passed, but it deffo doesn't feel that way yet.

But enough of the "woe is me." Quite boring at best.

Tavern Night was brill! At first I was really tense and awkward because I am usually playing music, not being a paying guest. As Ned put it, there was no instrument to hide behind. But friends showed up, and my sister and BIL, so that was good.

I must say, my sister was the belle of the ball! When she dances, she holds her head just so, and her arms just so, and she is entirely the most graceful being. And she smiles enchantingly. She was a joy to watch. But I was a wee bitty downcast because I have longed to do Colonial dancing for years, but I was in the band. Now I was not, but Ned was playing music.

Except! The dancing mistress's husband was the odd man, so! I got to dance! I confess, I find dancing most agreeable! Also I partnered with my BIL once. I knew he would have been rather dancing with his wife but she got swooped up! It was really fun and I am actually passable at it.

After dancing, Ned's eyes lit up and he said "And now, the afterparty, the most fun part!"

We all went into the taproom where Pirate Billy and the mayor and Ned and Harald started up the singing and tunes. One man, who was practically wrapped around my sister's leg earlier, he was stomping from foot to foot in time to the music. Alllll Night Long! It was like clockwork. Stompy boy, stompy boy, stomp, stomp stomp! (That is what I sing to Mr. Dog when he is stomping about..)

Then the rude songs started. One of them was unbelievably foul, yet it sounded like he was saying "deer parts" and then suddenly I got it! Beer farts! So I began my incredibly disgusting false gassing. Got quite a reaction.

People were getting drunk, but really, the beer and wine were indifferent at best. I only liked drinking from a big, pewter tankard. But I had Coca Cola, because life is too short to drink bad beer. Also, that is about when the stomach bug began its first faint rumbles of warning.

We went home at about midnight, and then I was awakened at 5 by Biba informing me that she had just cast up her accounts. She had shouted for Huey, talked to Ralph on the big white phone, hurled, blown chunks...you understand...I tucked her back into bed and slept while I could.

So yesterday Biba was pale and busy sleeping or hurling. It was quite disconcerting, the quietness. But as the day wore on, she improved and I declined. I've kept Biba home today and I may have passed the worst of it yet myself.

I am so glad that Tavern Night was so much fun, Now, when i am in a Historical Inn I'll have a better feeling of what it was like in the day when it was vital and alive. Like how I will be soon, I hope!

Ecks Oh!


4 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!