Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:43 p.m. - 2011-09-04
Getting ready...
for the NEXT flood! Yo ho ho! Yes, we expect there to be an "event" courtesy of Tropical Storm Lee. We simply can't handle more water, but I'd be wishing for it were we droughty, so, we carry on.

But we shall buy what I know as a dolly but is called a hand truck, because I Simply Won't lose my new laundry machines. I still feel traitorous and sad for losing the old ones. But that flood was flash and fast.

Uhhhh...well Ned and I have worked our collective bums off. The basement/cellar is bone dry...for now! The back garden is still coated with a light rime of poo. Yes, the sanitation pumping station failed during the flood and well, ew, and all do f that. We are quite familiar with bleach, now. The rain and sun will take care of the back garden.

Yes, well, City did make the national news as did the town to where we evacuated. It really was quite an event, and it is hard to believe that one week ago we were innocently making standard storm preps. Little did we know! Be we are strong, and also used to it. And we always come off so lucky, really. No need for self-pity or wounded indignancy here. Hmmm...is that a word? I mean to say being all wounded and indignant because one has to (gasp) actually do without a convenience for a time...

All right, I am off upstairs with the Vitesse and the pitchers to have a...make-do combo shower/bath. Yeah!

Smoochies to you all!


4 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!