Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

7:05 a.m. - 2011-08-28
Live from the Hotel Quik Chek
Yikes! Irene is here, actually she is everywhere...We were doing swimmingly (huh huh huh) until we got an unexpected wakening at about two a.m. By the fire department. We were being mandatorily evacuated. Grrr...

Not too terribly awful flooding in the basement, so we headed to my sister's house about 15 miles away. We went through a big puddle but were all right...except that as we were so, SO close...we were blocked by major league water...

SO. Plan B-ish...we headed to Ned's parents. And their house...

Drove past two downed trees, and I was deffo uncomfortable. Mr. Dog has been an angel, though. Biba is with Ned and is also angelic.
Anyway. Ned turned off into the Quik Chek just to top off the gas, but I suddenly decided that this was the place to wait it out. Electricity, a loo, what more could one want? Forch, Ned agreed. We had blankets in both cars, so why ever not? Driving in the dark in a hurricane sort of...sucks.

Now we are mulling our options...

More later...


3 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!