Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

10:23 p.m. - 2010-11-11
So much for literary pretensions...
...because the hottest topic at book club was epileptic dogs. Yeah, welcome to France, mate! And we were all drunk. Still, it was a good meeting. We did actually discuss the book. But then everything else under the sun as well. Really, lots of fun, and I am deffo glad that it is still continuing. Lots of book clubs sort of...peter out after a while.

Uhhh...what else? Well, do you remember the woman who is combative and competitive and quite aggressive? She has totally mellowed and is actually quite relaxed now. At book club...

Well...Biba is at the age where soon she will discover the essential Santa Claus truths. Someone taught her "Santa Got Run Over By a Reindeer" and there are words there that I can see that she is pondering. This year when we do the shopping for our Christmas Child(ren), I will mention (frequently?)that we are "being Santa" for them. We have two this year. If you heard that cracking sound the other day, that was my heart breaking when I read the wish list of a ten-year-old girl, who had listed "food, non-perishable" on her list. Makes me realise what a lazy, spoilt shit that I am. We can give a temporary fix in the form of a grocery gift card, but I wish like fire that that child didn't know want and need. The other, an eight-year-old girl wrote "underwear for school"...

Do you know, every time that I hear Biba say "that isn't fair," I tell her that life isn't fair, and most of the time it isn't fair, in our favour, that we get far more than we deserve. That is why it is so important for me to try to do what we can, whenever and wherever that we can.

Because where there is hope, great things can be done.

Now...about those epileptic dogs...

Ecks Oh!


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!