Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:15 p.m. - 2010-06-06
Glad that you've asked!
Well, it all went brilliantly!

Biba and I slept in a bit so we didn't get to the camp (which is absolutely gorgeous, I must say) until noon, well just before. We ran immediately into the other stay-homer (We'll call her Mean Mum) so the girls went off to climb the small rock wall. We all met at lunch and then I unpacked the car.

The first after lunch activity was the Scavenger Hunt. Well, I don't know how you've all learnt how to scavenger hunt, but for us, it was each team got along list of fairly common items, but not obvious, and we all went out and scavenged for them. Usually nature, but sometimes a neighbourhood one. Well this one was bags of clues that sent them to the next place. Or would have, but the first people there tended to run off with the bag of clues. A disaster all in all, but I coached the girls into finishing a project if it was doable, even if it was a bit of a pain. The not becoming an habitual quitter thing, and dealing with frustration. So they got their rewards and then we plopped them into the pool for a long while. I did get to chat with a couple of Mums, but nothing cruise-azy and I was becoming convinced that one really didn't like me, but ah well. Mean Mum was pleasant enough and I got plenty of time to analyse her.

Then it was time for the Try-It session-the Brownies' answer to merit badges. We all sat on the huge deck outside of the dining hall and semi-watched, semi-chatted. After the project was over the girls wanted to go to the lake and play in the sand, so we let them. Then was dinner and they wanted to go right back to the sand, forget the film and the dance. We were all about that, and so we stayed out until half past nine. It was brilliant. And much cooler than here.

Mean Mum was always off by herself then, and also her daughter was wanting to go off alone with Mum. I thought "poor people skills being passed along." Mean Mum is one of those hard, self-serving, aggressive people who can be pleasant enough but will always have that kernel of misery and negativity. I believe that it comes from insecurity. Hell, I know that she is a fraud, and a shitty parent in the bargain, but I don't like her any the less. Her little turd of a daughter wanted a top bunk, but they were taken, so she just climbed up and slept in the same bunk as the leader's daughter. Who didn't really appreciate it, but didn't have the skills to say it. Bah!

All of the rest was nice, and this morning during the cleanup (Mean Mum had left early and the girls were down in the sand) we bonded a lot! I feel quite happy about that.

Biba and I drove home into the sweltering heat and humidity. When we got home, I tidied the dining room table, and let Biba veg in front of the tele. I decided to really superclean Ned and my bedroom. Everything is out from under the bed! It took me hours but I feel so happy about that. The bed had been marching over towards Ned's side of the room, so I go that taken care of. And then, as Ned came home, the coolest wind blew through. I could feel it cooling down a few during the afternoon but this was brilliant. So Ned got a pizza and we all dined outside. And wore glow-stick bracelets, even Ned!

So that is really all of that and I am ever so glad that we went. We shall be much better prepared next year! Oh, yes, we are deffo going!


3 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!