Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:49 p.m. - 2010-05-08
Hmmmm...
Biba seems to be into mythology lately. Ned is upstairs reading to her the story of Persephone. Biba said to him "Daddy, I don't know why, but I just seem to be interested in ancient things lately." We read Celtic myths in Dublin. Actually in Drogheda. "Smallhead" made a big impression. And as a bonus, Ned always pronounces things correctly. I have a terrible tendency to put the ac-CENT on the wrong syl-LA-ble. And my default pronunciation is Francais. You should hear how I say "Putin". You'd never know that it was him. Oh, and I am terribly sibilant at times.

Tonight I made shrimp and grits for dinner. I had picked up a roll of grits in Kentucky because it looked like polenta, so why not. But then I decided that I would learn to make shrimp and grits before we went to NC in June.

Take a packet of bacon, is what it is here, cut it, (the bacon, not the packet) into small pieces and fry it in a big pan. Add spring onions sliced thinly and a clove of garlic, all squished. If there is a lot of grease, drain some off, but you will need some because you will add the shrimp, as much as you like, to that, and cook them until pink along with all of the bacony part.

Aside from all that, make grits, I used white but I suppose yellow would do. It comes in a package. I am not very familiar with the grit. Make them of a creamy texture, and you can add a bit of cream, and then grate in some sharp cheddar. Don't overdo it though, because as you know, you have bacon grease in the scene, and that doesn't need a lot of competing fat. At any rate, put the grits into a big bowl, and then add on top the bacon/shrimp mixture. That is all there is to it. I would drink a Summer beer with it or a really crisp white wine.

Today I woke uo sooo late, at half eight, and got up and did a bunch of things. I decided to get dressed and out in the back garden as Ned and Biba were both sleeping. I weeded my tiny mind out! Trugs and trugs full! I accidentally uprooted my fav-o-riffic mint, but perhaps it will survive. I weeded out some of the hosta because it was taking over. My poor peas are only tiny, not even a foot high. But all in all everything looks good.

We had cocktails and played La Scopa and I am now in that "buh-buh-buh" state, so I will deffo be off to ned soon.

Ecks Oh!


1 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!