Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:21 p.m. - 2010-05-04
We are, actually, back...
We made it home in time with eight minutes to spare to pick up Mr. Dog.

The...wedding. I wish that I could say that it was interesting, at least, but it was just sort of stupid, and...well, inane. And odd. Better than the last one, I suppose. SIL stuck us with her sweet children, even the last evening when I had wanted to swim with Biba. I have made it clear to Ned and his parents that under no circumstances will I childmind the boys when we are on holiday next month, no matter how much that I love them. I gave up my anniversary, I will NOT give up my hol. I did find out just how much support that SIL has been getting from FIL. She is sooo good at ever so sweetly passing off her responsibilities to everyone else. But really, if one's child needs help, and one can do it, then I say good. I would do it for Biba.

We left the hotel and headed up to Kentucky on Sunday morning. We knew that Nashville and Memphis were underwater and we knew also that we would be riding the edges of the storm that produced the flooding. Well, we drove through some horrendous weather! I, Fifi, drove through thee most pelting rain ever! My hands were aching the next morning because of the death grip that I had had on the steering wheel. I like to call it the "car tiller" but that is just me.

The too often said phrase of the trip was the laugh "hurr hurr hurr" for whatever reasons. It did keep things lightened.

Where was I? Oh, yes, so in Kentucky, although it was as beautiful as Tennessee (they accent the first syllable) there was soooo much water, and I knew that it was just wrong. We made it to the Boone Tavern (thee historic) in time for brunch. Pee Ess I bought their cookery book, and it is simply fascinating!) The brunch was totally delicious! There was one loud cell phone yapper, but I think that I was not the only one to murmur to the staff "can that be turned off" but still, even after she had silenced the cell, she tried to jump into the conversation that I was having with the server regarding the preparation of one of the vegetables. Honestly! I wonder if I am that way. I hope not.

We went to the Berea Artisans center where I bought a bunch of things and now I realise that I was veree overstimulated visually. I am surprised that I did not buy more. But I wish that I have been calmer. The weather did not make things carefree. After that, we saw many rescue vehicles coming in from the highway, and we headed to a place called---are you ready?---The Liquor Barn! We bought bourbon to take home to friends, the kind of bourbon that we can't find here, and there was a gourmet section as well, so I bought some sorghum, which is a syrup. Apparently, we were in sorghum and gravy country.

We hit Charleston, WV later that day, in time for the Mountain Stage. Oh, and then we crashed. The next day was Monday and was a veree long haul, but we made it with a minimum of stress. I think.

SO now, I readjust to real life for a bit. I deffo need to get more sleep.


4 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!