Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

6:46 p.m. - 2010-04-28
Last Ireland Entry...until next time over!
After the Causeway, (last entry) we had to head back down to Drogheda. We went through Newry because we were hoping to find some single malts. Here is Newry...

We did, however, notice that the mythical Buckfast Tonic Wine (made by monks!) could be purchased. We had read an article in the NYT recently as to how Buckfast was the scourge of the UK. Possibly a poetic license, if you will. Bu think of it, drunks hopped up on caffeine! So we bought some. Equal to 5 units. We actually did open it up the other night. It deffo tastes like something that little old ladies would get potted on, sort of paper-y and floral. Pie-eyed, if you will. Of course we drank decorously from sherry glasses (not the usual custom!) and we have over half of the bottle left.

On to Drogheda. A wonderful place! A town, but a very big town, once walled. I deffo remember taking pics of the gate, but somehow they never showed up. Drogheda is in Co. Louth, but right near Co. Meath. I will have to confess, Co.s Louth and Meath are my fav-o-riffic ones. There is Something There. I cannot describe it but I heartily recommend to go, if you can.

We headed off to Newgrange and Knowth, in the Bru Na Boinne. Some say Boyne river valley, some say mansion of the Boyne. Right now I am too drunk to write in Irish, but Knowth is Cnobha (keh-NO-vah) and it means knowledge, roughly translated. Well, I am deffo rambling and getting pedantic.


This is Knowth and satellites. The satellites are s either 17 or 18 in number. I am going to direct you to here for much better info. I seriously and truly love the Bru Na Boinne.

Great mound, satellites and tourists!

Here is the river...

And random hidden birds in the valley...

This abuts the site...

It can be quite boggy.

The kerbstones that surround the great mound are highly decorated. At Knowth. This one is a serpent, suggesting that there were snakes in Ireland once.

Kerbstone. More following.

That was the passage inside Knowth.

This as well.

Some of the views from the top of the great mound.

Back to the river, a picnic, and on to Newgrange.

Beautiful Newgrange!

I believe that this is one of the few decorated kerbstones at Newgrange, but it might be Knowth. But I really think Newgrange...

Here is the entry of Newgrnage. The light enters the box over the entry and lights the passageway at the Solstice in Winter.

This is a brilliant pic of the tri-spiral kerb at the entrance. I have heard it said that Newgrange is the only place of the tri-spiral. The sun was perfect to illuminate it so.

Good view of the light box.

Here is the back of Newgrange.

Sheep. Veree pastoral!

Winding up with more sheep.

Then a brief stop at Dobha, (Dowth, the Fairy Darkness site) which is like a red-headed stepchild, if I have that expression correctly.

So, mes amis, this is the tour. But glad to be home!

Tomorrow we head out to Pennsyltucky. We may have to endure the wedding, but the road trip ought to make up for it. Handcrafts and bourbon, here we come!


5 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!