Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:14 p.m. - 2010-04-14
Enfin!!!
This will be all talky, but eventually there will be photos. I just have to do the downsizing of them and that takes a. remembering how, and B. not being drunk. Yes, I am an alcohol lightweight these days...

List form?

1. Day one, sit about all day worrying, go to Philly airport, have plenty of time etc. Eat bad food. Etc. Finally, get on plane. That was Monday.

2. I never remember which way is the shorter way, to or from. Turns out it is to that is shorter, five hours. That is somewhat like a truncated day at Orkplace, and the flight was smooth and uneventful. Except that I had to lull myself to sleep by going through every floor plan of every house that I have ever lived in, and I do count places that we have hired temporarily.

3. Wowee kazoweee, it was suddenly Tuesday. We left the airport and caught a taxi/tacsai into An Lar Claith, (City Center, Dublin) to the place where we were staying. Nice, and we were able to check in early so we took naps, because Ned has finally come to see that it is a good thing. We woke up, did a bit of shopping (I did buy a taped bodhran, which hasn't arrived here yet...) and had dinner at a pub which was filled with Americans for the most part. There was a dude with a shirt that said "Central Michigan" on it and I knew the code word with which to greet them. I told it to Ned who said "MishyGANders?" (Michiganders) and they all to a head swiveled about to see who knew the secret code. (Anybody LUCKY here who knows that as well?! XO!) SO we had a bit of a chat and then it was getting late so back we went. That was Tuesday.

$. I deffo miss the toilets there. They are to a head (haw haw haw) really efficient. I think that it just reminds me of home...

5. ANYWAY...

6. Wednesday, we got up, oh, and I can't even tell you how wonderful all of the cheeses are. I miss that so much. Cheese availability here is deffo ramping up, though, no complaints. Yes, well, brekkies. Then off to do the Main Thing that we were in Ireland for. That was fun. Took a bus, sat on top, missed our stop, trekked forever through neighbourhoods, and finally arrived. Main Thing was done, without a hitch, so I thought...and we took the LUAS back. Really, I do look forward to the day of widespread trams here. I know, I know, the subway, the els etc. but I don't personally have one exactly here. I would so totally use it...ANyway. Then we went to Trinity (College) to the library to see the Book of Kells. Biba loved every minute of it. She adores museums. After that we had a late lunch at a fish place, and then Biba and Ned headed to Stephens' Green to the play park. Ground. Whatevs. Meanwhile I did a bit of shopping. There is much, much more of international brands now. Ah but still, I came back with 5 Euthymol and one Fiacla. Toothplste/dentifrice. Uhhh...where was I? Oh, yes the playground was closed for renewal. We saw a few birds, went back to drop off packages and went to Gogarty's for music. Biba thought that it was too loud and she was tired so she cried. I took her out for consoling and talks and that is when a whining, puling, fakey sweet voice intruded. Yes, the Spitting Gypsy! Basically I told her to go inside to get money from Ned, (like THAT would really happen...) and she finally left. I didn't mind that she was begging, it was that clearly I was busy with my child, so begging would be totally inappropriate. She went up the street. And I was still explaining to Biba that it wasn't always going to be all about her always and that we all were going to have to make some concessions, and I heard the spit noise and off passed the gypsy by in a huff. She has totally excellent hair! Yes,I never found the geeber so perhaps she missed. At any rate after a bit, back to the guesthouse we went.

7. Thursday? Ned picked up the car from the car hire and wove his way back through Claith after getting sucked over the Liffey the way that we always do but soon we were on our way up North. The first time that we crossed the border we didn't exactly notice. I had wondered why the grocery was in Sterling, and Pee Ess you lucky dogs you can get all of the cakeys that you want right there at the grocery! I have to make mine! ANyway we sorted that all out and had a laugh. We had lunch in Monahan, best toastie I ever had, and went up to Omagh. That is where I have family. It was rahther bigger than I had thought, but Biba saw a play park and informed us that she really needed to go there, so we did. Chatted with a Dad of girls that Biba had befriended. Nice all in all. Made out way up to Portballantrae, which is gorgeous! I accidentally brought back some sea glass from there. Another play park visit for Biba, and we checked in to the Inn. Gorgeous! Perfect!

8. Next morning. We went to Dunluce Castle first and then to the Giant's Causeway, which was one of Ned's Must Dos for Biba. It is indeed the world's largest natural playground although I'll deffo bet that everyone has a fav-o-riffic place that meets that title. After a lovely morning we headed down to Drogheda, which is absolutely wonderful and brilliant! The place that we stayed was a rare treat. Gorgeous manly men dancing attendance on one can really turn the head! And the bath smelled just like my Grandmere's did. I never thought that I'd smell that smell again. (Oh, stop! It was all flowery with an undertone of mineral water.) So that was an unexpected gift. A sound night's sleep was had.

8.5. Oh, on the way down, we stopped in Newry, which had begun rolling down its gates for the night. We did stop at an off-license and were able to buy a small bottle of that Scourge of the UK, Buckfast Tonic Wine. The dude tried to discourage us, but we mentioned that we had heard how awful it was so we simply must try it. He said "Be careful" when we left. He might be relieved to know that we still have not opened it. Time for all things in their own time, wot?

9. In the morning after thee best breakfast, with certainly the veree best black pudding that I have ever had, and I have had a lot!, we dropped off laundry down the hill, took pictures of the St. Laurence gate, and wandered into a crime scene. Almost. Apparently, a wild youth had gone on a stabbing spree. It was really schocking. We bought Biba a Tiara at Penneys while we were waiting for the mass to finish at the church where was the shrine of St. Oliver Plunkett. His head is there. It sort of creeped Biba out. Then we went off to Newgrange and Knowth. Realy wonderful, mystical neolithic passage tombs. And fields of sheep baaing their wee heads off. We managed a pic-nic (will I ever know how to spell that word?) and had a lovely afternoon. We stopped by Dowth as well which is an open site but we had to get back to pick up the laundry so we did not go in and linger.

10. Saturday, off to drop off the car, get on the plane and go home. There is U.S. Immigration set up already at Dublin airport and every visitor to the US has to get fingerprinted and photographed. It is still a bit shocking, as if we were a police state which of course is not true. Still, it made USA seem veree big. Anway, Ned got stopped, searched and all that twice. Probably because he is so cute. I did beep once, though. At any rate, the flight home was smooth and easy, except for that I kept getting hungry. I know, strange...

11. But it was really good to get home, pick up Mr. Dog, and...be home...apparently there is no place like home, wherever that may be at the time.


6 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!