Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:35 a.m. - 2010-02-11
The usual nonsense and drivel...
I was exhausted yesterday evening so I didn't post about the snow.

It snowed here.

The end. (HAW HAW HAW, only a joke!)

We got between 1 and 2 feet. It was actually rahther warm, all things considered. Made for good packing snow. I am an expert at snow packing activities. First off we all slept late, and then when we got up we saw that our neighbour's amor had shoveled us out. He did that several times actually. What then? We just sort of aimlessly knocked about for a bit. Biba wanted pancakes, aka drop scones, and so we did. But I put on the chocolate hazelnut spread. Good!

We got a call from one of Biba's friend's mother asking where Biba was going to spend the day, because the friend reeaaally didn't want to go where she was to go. I said why not come here, then? So she came over right after lunch. At this point the snow was really picking up. We went out and made a snowman, and then we headed up the street to an open space. There had been already a fort made. We started rolling huge snow balls and naming them, of course. We had Hoya, Buttercup, Tiny, Mighty, Cheeky Monkey, Betsy, and a few others. Felix, I think. Some other people joined in, who had not much experience of snow, so I started some snow balls for them. Then we were sort of lining up the snowballs, and out of nowhere came this totally obnoxious woman. She began bossing the children all about, taking their snowballs away and finishing them herself, demanding this and that. I made some barbed remarks, but she didn't get the hint, so I told her straight out that what she was doing was completely inappropriate. She backed off but still par-TI-cipated, bah, but at least not as domineering. I think that she really has issues, and I suspect that she had been drinking. The visibility was gettign really low, so we left to go in for hot cocoa with marshmallows. And sprinkles, but really not many.

I bundled up the girls with fleece blankets and let them watch a film, and threw all of our wet things into the dryer. Except for not my coat as it wouldn't do well there. Friend's Mum called after a bit to see if Biba wanted to go there for dinner, and I offered that we were just haveing apero and pizza so Miss Girl was welcome here as well, so we left it up to them. They elected here. So, enfin, but all to soon, it was time to walk her home. The girls were really bundled up, and when we saw huge snow piles , I could just let them loose and they could climb at will. (No cars!) So the World's Longest Playdate came to a close. It was good to be able to reciprocate.

After that, I realised that it was not going to stay this warm for long, so I really ought to re-dig out the cars while it was relatively easy. Ned did his and I did mine. This car does not do well in snow at all. Partly the reason that I am taking the day today.

SO I was quite sleepy. I slept like a rock. I think.

Today there is not too much to do, but I wonder, will I be motivated to do it? No telling!

Oh, Pee Ess, the snow man keeled over. Quite dramatic. We could see the lean starting earlier on...still haven't found the corncob pipe...


3 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!