Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:26 a.m. - 2010-01-18
A grand day off!
Gack!! But rum balls! And I have to say that the Harry London "artisanal" sea salt caramels leave a lot to be desired. Unless they are not called "artisanal". Because what they are are mass produced caramels over-enrobed with chocolate and then huge chunks of what would appear to be halite, that which they ice-malt the sidewalks with. Natch, I take it mostly all off.

I do adore salt caramels, but they have to be made correctly or I'd rahther go without. Snort.

I've been busy on ebay. Sometimes it just happens. To be fair, it did start out as my trying to find a vintage crumb butler for my mother. But then the vintage lingerie, the flapper shoes...well, you see what happens.

Yesterday we did a massive clean-up. I honestly do not care if there are visible giant tupperwares in the room if the mess is all contained within. Biba's toys were really getting out-of-hand. I don't remember having as many toys as Biba has, but weren't we all so perfect as children?

I invented another cocktail yesterday. Ironic, in the face of Saturday's elephant, non? It is called the Epiphany.

1oz appplejack
1 oz pomegranate liqueur
strong shake of lemon bitters

pour over ice, top up with ginger ale, garnish with cherries.

I suppose that you could use Calvados in a pinch. I use Pama pomegranate. The bitters come from Fee Brothers. I used a Maker's Mark glass, but I think that a tall glass would be appropriate. This is why. The applejack can be a bit rough and raw. The dilution mellows it our and lets the pomegranate shine through. The bitters just ties it all together.

Sliante!

Well, on board for today, I think that Biba will cook again. A trip for ingredients is in order. Also, I suppose that Biba and I will do a tiny bit of aimless shopping. My sister and family are back from skiing, so we shall deffo pop by there. Biba's room is a target for cleaning as well. I suppose that we ought to really move that up on the priority list.

One thing that has been bothering us---there is something unseen that smells like mould or something. Like a wet shoe. We cleaned madly yesterday and did not find it, but the smell remains. I am wondering if it might be a shoddily made toy that simply reeks.

And naps...I had one yesterday, and that was wonderful! Dare I squeeze in another? And to think that sometimes I simply Will Not go to bed at night. What is my deal? Oh, who cares, it is my deal and I'll deal with it. After a nap!

Oh crappo, I just had to discipline Biba for snarkiness. No computer today for her. I wonder where she is getting this attitude from. From where is ...oh, screw grammar. This ugliness has got to stop!

Well, this has go tot be one of thee most pointless entries ever. Harrumph!


4 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!