Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

6:49 a.m. - 2009-12-29
Seize the minute!
Well, I have to confess, I have been home since late Sunday, but still have not made the time to post. I can point to SOMEone, who is deffo on his way to an OD of Google earth, but I could deffo have written yesterday morning. OH, the laziness!

I am one of a few who has volunteered to go in to Orkplace over the break. Orkplace closes over the holidays, but still, a skeleton few are needed. I don't mind, though. It gives me a way to unwind from the hols. I really need to work on that.

We saw tons of family, including two wee ones whom I have never seen until then. They are quite adorable, but I will say emphatically that I am glad that I have not had another child aside from Biba. Biba is thee most! Thee best! How could I want another after her? Perhaps I am just selfish, but I simply cannot see being able to love another baby after Biba in the same way. She is everything and more that I have ever wanted. Oh, yes, I know the arguments and rationales, but let's face it, I know my limitations. Plus, think of the countless aperos that I would miss!

I deffo did less this year, and that had no reason to do with Christmas. I think that it had a LOT to do with Christmas, at the same time. I did not decorate that much. We had the tree, the Advent candles, Advent calendars, and the creche. (The Nativity scene) Ours is not even an heirloom. It is a copper tinted set that I found at a flea market (les puces). It is veree simple and what we need. I would have loved to have my grandmere's carved set, but unforch, Ma Tante is quite mired in materialism. She doesn't even have to use the things, it is just desperately important to her that she has them. At any rate, so, I decided that we didn't need tonnes of garland, our fairy lights are in place all of the year, the porch dude couldn't be bothered to come to fix the porch, so we just have a string of neutral lights there, oh, and a wreath, but really, deffo down at least 70% from usual.

In terms of gift giving, I made the decision to skip the adults on Boxing Day, because honestly, I'd rahther give to their children. One set of cousins never, EVER gives, and the others are brill, and I adore them, but I think that they can use better gifts through the year. That same Auntie, she is QUITE thrifty, so I decided, non-hostile-ly, to give her a lovely box of truffles and be done with it. Not Bah exactly, but...

confession time...

I did get quite annoyed by knocking myself out to make things lovely for others only to get stiffed in return. It isn't the things, it is the effort, the thought. Am I really just an afterthought? I do not give only that I may receive, but I do like someone to put forth an effort. It is a byproduct of success, I think, that often, people put forth the minimum for you, expecting your maximum. BAH! And do you know, it felt GOOD! Good to just do as I wanted to do, not as I thought that I ought!

Now, I am not generally a score-keeper! Even this is not really scorekeeping, at least that is not the intent. I just wonder what people would do if I were regular. Would they expect great things? Would they feel entitled to my blood? No, it is time to live in a way that includes myself as well as others. My balance tends to get way off.

My, what a tangent...

With luck, more later. No diatribe!


4 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!