Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

10:05 p.m. - 2009-12-19
Ack! Or is \"gah\" more appropriate?
We had Hors d'Oeuvres Night tonight. It is a new tradition here at the Casa Della Bon Bon. One night during the pre-Christmas rush time, we take the night and have hors d'oeuvres for dinner and cocktails (ginger ale for Biba) and we play games like La Scopa . Tonight it was Apples to Apples. We make it a bit more fun by putting in the next card from the draw pile as the input from the DogCat Team. They nearly won tonight. I really would have won except that I threw a few chances away when Ned was the judge so that Biba's card would be picked. She really does give some excellent choices, but Ned and I know each other so well, and also there are some cultural references that Biba just wouldn't get yet. She was disappointed that she didn't win and she stalked off to sulk. I asked "Biba, do you know what 'poor sportsmanship' is?" Biba said "Yes, it's what I'm doing now!" Oh, and I've noticed lately that she is deffo picking up my accent. I don't know whether to be pleased or "eek"ed. It sounds veree cute coming from her.

I made Expensive Fruity Cocktails and drank far too many. I feel as if I could drink an entire pitcher of water right now. I am well on the way to it. And the snow continues to fall.

Apropos of nothing, have you ever seen a lazier gadget than the remote car starter? Welcome to France, mate! And on tip of it they let their car "warm up" for simply ages. Let me tell you, in Switzerland, you would NEVER get away with something as irresponsible and inconsiderate as that! Not to mention as environmentally destructive!

This morning, the Brownies went caroling. It was more than that, it was a part of Community Service. We had a grand time, but I shall never understand for the life of me why people are so reluctant to sing out. (Perhaps not everybody runs about with a "Look At Me!!" sign the way that I do!) I was caroling at the top of my lungs, and plus---maracas!!!! Do you know how much fun that maracas can be? I do, now! Also, when the girls began to complain of the cold, I taught them a Circle Dance, because if THAT didn't warm them up, nothing would!

I brought flowers to our friends with the dear old dog. (Of last entry.) They are all broken up, but life's everyday will not be denied. I gave white lilies, white roses, red berries and the Floral Artiste used eucalyptus for greenery. It looked beautiful. The florist is a genius, actually. I just remember that when my last dog died, a friend who was a florist gave me flowers, and it really meant so much to me, although I'd be hard-pressed to explain why. So to me it was veree important to give flowers. Although my secret feeling is that we ought to have flowers often, for no reason, because life is filled with beauty and this reminds us of it.

Well, the snow still flies. I am always inclined to pooh pooh the weather reports as they are usually more alarmist than fact, but they seem to have been semi-accurate on this one. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Ecks Oh!


5 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!