Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

10:25 p.m. - 2009-10-30
A skeleton walks into a bar...
...and says "Get me a beer and a mop."

Ba-dum-dum. I heard someone say that joke today though.

I did a half day today which was grand as I went in quite early so was out by 11. I saw the Skeleton Heads all lit up in full glory. They are on one of my ways into Orkplace.

Les enfants had their Hallowe'en parade today which was exactly why I took a half day holiday. Biba got to come home for lunch and change into costume, then get back to school. I let Biba wear her Marie Antoinette dress, but she doesn't like the wig, so we just went for the generic princess look. I was glad of it, though because I didn't want her to ruin her cowgirl costume, or lose bits of it. I keep thinking of the Brownie vest that went missing...

Yes, well, so uncharitably, I was thinking that this one rambunctious out-of-control girl had pinched it, the vest I mean to say. I mentioned without names to one of the dads and he knew right off who it was. I mentioned to the child's mother that Biba had lost her vest and could she check in case her child had brought it home. Which led to a looong discussion and this woman, who is quite nice and pleasant, ended up weeping all over me because her pediatrician wants to medicate her child and she doesn't want to because she is afraid that it will kill her child's spirit. I was encouraging all around, but basically told her that she knew her child the best. I was actually quite relieved to find that my suspicions of the child were not unfounded. Biba has had some issues with her, but I just told her that we will not get along with everybody, but we could still be pleasant to people who are not as easy to live with. Then I gave her an example from my life about a wee scunner who is no longer speaking to me because I corrected her grammar. (Honestly, if you are going to represent our organisation, you really must be well-spoken!) Clearly she had been searching for a reason to cut me off, when I look back on it. But I really don't want to rent much head space to her as she is a miserable sort. I truly don't miss the interaction. (She is one of those women who can live your life SOOOO much better than you can...)

So, life gives us lessons. If we're lucky, we learn from them.

Tomorrow Biba and I are going to replace the lost vest and all of the patches. Also pick up the kit for two friends and pick up an order for one other Brownie. Honestly, though, one of the ones that I am buying for has a stay-at-home Mum. Why ever can't she make it there?

Leading me to---I really want to stop being so judgmental. And I am mild compared to most. And I am deffo not reacting to what An the Twerp was saying. (A case of the pot calling the kettle black in someone's comments) No, I just realised that I'd be happier not having the internal dialogue about how this one would be better if, and that one really ought to ...really, why waste the time?

Big day tomorrow. Boo! to you all! (Scared you, didn't I?)


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!