Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

6:14 p.m. - 2009-08-10
OH! Did we ever have fun!
We had a brilliant weekend! First day we went to this dear little lake which is teeming (does that get a "neener", Beanie?) with wildlife. Lots of fish, a snapping turtle, snails, a falcon, a Great Blue Heron and a cormorant. And only one of us ended up in the lake. One of six is not bad. Ned did steer us straight toward the dam, but I can get amazing things accomplished from the front of the canoe, as I am freakishly strong. Still, if we don't start a more straightforward navigation I shall take over the back of the canoe.

The second day we went to a place called Stony Creek which is where the Thimble Islands are. They have dear little houses on some of them and huge houses on others. And a gazebo on one, where it is not allowable to build a permanent structure anymore because the was a deadly hurricane long ago, with loss of life, and they don't want a repeat of that any time.

We paddled out to rocks/tiny islands depending on how you look at it. We saw cormorants lightening their loads, as it were. We got out onto the rocks. Oh, and the gazebo island is for sale. Apparently, there is some woman from NY who is buying all of the islands that she can, which causes the taxes to rise, which causes families to lose their islands that have been their families for generations. I call that quite horrendous. I am not so tolerant of new money when it is arrogant.

The babbies (Biba and her cousine)were on the beach (with a competent adult supervising, which ruled me out) but they couldn't see us from the beach. I did not go swimming after, nor did Ned. Next time, I think.

Oh look, Ned is home. Off to a No Cooking dinner!


3 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!