Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

8:57 p.m. - 2009-06-21
Wot's on yer mind?
I've been musing about an unsettling new development. I seem to be losing my tolerance for alcohol. (I know, quelle horreur!) It is a shock. Last night after apero, I had to pull Ned aside and whisper "Guess what? I'm afraid that I am drunk!" He was reassuring and I suppose that I felt as if he'd keep an eye on me so that I'd not burn the place down whilst making dinner.

Speaking of which, last night was thee best Icelandic char that I've ever had! And tonight peas from the garden. And beans from the organic farm. Tomorrow Bok Choy and Broccoli.

We went on a small bike ride today after (hooray!) my two-hour nap! We rode down the tow path to below the city. Lots of pleasant river views.

I got tons of small things done, just bits and bobs here and there. I got the ironing done,and believe me, pressing all those little Biba dresses with a new iron was not fun at first. I think that the iron had to get used to being used or something. At first I thought that perhaps this was the worst iron that I'd ever had the misfortune to use, but after I got used to it, I could see lots of possibilities.

Oh cats, wait a tick, I have to go see to the drains upstairs. Back in a flash!

Done and done.

Biba is all worked up about camp. This week it is Interim Camp. She is being balky about Regular Camp, which she just adored last year. Frankly she has no choice. The safest place is the best, and it also happens to be the most fun. Biba was wild about it last year. Plus there is swimming at Regular Camp, and I feel that swimming is an important skill to know.

Now back to me and all my silly accomplishments. What was it besides clothes ironing and squeezing orange juice? I never did Furminate Mr. Dog. I need to get him groomed but there is only so much time in a day, although as I type this I realise that I could actually be combing out His Furriness. I did get the meadow mowed, and realised that some of my gardening tools have met the end of their useful life. However, I've sharpened a few knives and dang am I ever good at that! I'd found a cast-off granny knife at a flea market and I sharpened it today and it cuts unbelievably well!

I am quite a fan of Les Puces. Many the objet in my house is a flea-market find. We have some nice ones nearby so it is quite easy to just amble about seeing what there is. Also I don't always have to buy something.

Garden news. There are blossoms on both of the pepper plants although I can't tell which is which as I had very optimistically taken out the markers when I potted them. The tomatoes are starting to have yellow leaves because the rain is drowning them. There are shriveled green tomatoes on some of the plants. What can one do? The blueberries and cranberries all seem to be doing brilliantly, although I've never caught sight of a blossom yet. Some of our flower seedlings are coming up. Really I can't expect much this year what with the cold and the rain.

Oh, Happy Solstice!


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!