Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

8:54 a.m. - 2009-05-17
Oh, nothing...
I am not at the kirky right now which is where I'd usually be. But Biba has had a few very late nights (bad us!) and the laundry has not been done in days and there is a benefit that Ned is playing this afternoon, so this morning is about catching up.

We went to see Star Trek on Fritday---brilliant! What I was most impressed by is how well they found a young Bones. That actor did an amazing job. I like the Kirk as well, although heaven help me it is because I thought that he was quite hott. (REALLY not my usual type!) I didn't buy into the young Spock as much but I can deffo live with it. We took Ned's Dad along as well. Yesterday he said that he might just catch it again. My feelings exactly.

Yesterday was a big morning's volunteer work, then a visit to a used book store. I bought some French Fairy Tales, a vintage bird guide and a book of pin-up art. It is sort of fascinating, but this artist sort of depicted women as slow-witted idiots with their bums being shown. I think that I really prefer the style of Vargas. My mother used to try to draw like him. I remember sheets and sheets of paper here and there with lists written on them, and drawings of girls all over. Some just cute faces, some action shots like ballet or sporty things. She always used a fountain pen. Nowadays her chosen pen is a Mont Blanc. In thinking about it, I rahther miss those lists...

I took a nap and then went to pick up Biba from her Grands. I stopped by a little gourmet shop that was until recently owned by a lovely Belgian family. The new owners have stripped it down quite a bit and it is rapidly getting to be ordinary. Thankfully there is still igourmet.

The evening was cocktails, dinner and games with my sister and her family. We ran quite late, but oh, how I treasure these days. I feel certain that my BIL will have to relocate to Europe, which is fine but neither mine nor Ned's Orkplaces look to that in the future, so there would be a huge absence.

As for myself I am trying veree hard to remember to take the happiness and treasure it. To pick simple joy over more work. Live it, not to hoard it. I am fighting my fatigue-induced fears and I feel rahther good the past two days. I feel certain that things will even out, and Orkplace does indeed seem to be easing.

SO. That's all of that for now.


4 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!