Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

8:48 p.m. - 2009-02-01
Look, I did it again...
...only lying through my teeth and looking up the answers.

Behold!


NerdTests.com says I'm a Dorky Nerd God.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get geeky images and jokes, and write on the nerd forum!

Hah!

Yesterday Biba and I did something majorly fun. We went to the farm and watched the ice harvest. I've never seen that before. The pond had been scored with a grid and the harvesters cut through with a giant saw, then the blocks of ice were gaffed and hauled out of the water, then they took the gaffe and slid each block over to a wooden chute. Like a wooden elevated train track. Sort of. The blocks were hoisted up with ice tongs, three in a row. Then from up the hill, the horse pulled the pulley thingy that slid the ice up the hill on the chute from the pond to the ice house. (Huhhuhhuh Icehouse...Electric Blue...) Then they stacked up the ice in the icehouse with layers of sawdust. Insulation, etc. It really works, too! Because they make ice cream in the Summer with that ice. Plus there is always a lump of ice in the icebox, the precourser to the refri (fewkit, who can write all those letters..)

Of course Biba had the best fun sliding and falling on the ice. I couldn't let her participate, not that she wanted to, because I didn't think to put her in boots. Next year.

Also there was an igloo built of the ice blocks and also a fire was built so that people could get warm. The seats were of ice, though. All in all a brilliant day.

Today was so warm that I can hardly believe how cold it was yesterday. I worked a lot.

The end.


1 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!