Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:10 p.m. - 2008-11-12
But I HAVE to do this...
It is a rant, so brace yourself, for I am about to do what a friend calls "the angry vomit".

I was cautiously mentioning to Ned that I think that it seems that the proposition 8 in Cali would most likely be overturned, right? Because first of all, what about those who were already legally married? What do you say now? Oops? No longer true? That would seem illegal to me. And I was really super-surprised that California of all people would go all conservative and rigid, but then I did remember that moron Athena... And then the big question---who the hell has the right to say that some people are less equal than others. What, just because they make YOU uncomfortable??!! What the hell care I if two men or two women get married??!!! Just how exactly does that offend me? (It totally doesn't, that is how!) How is this supposed to affect me negatively. Help me out here, because I'm just not seeing it. Wasn't this country declared independant by starting off with "all men are created equal"? I know, what about the women. But does anybody REALLY, really want to go back to the mentality of deminising and marginalising people? Because I am just not seeing it. Ned had very thoughtful comments to add.

And Then.

He said that he was reading about how Arkansas was trying to get on the books a law that would forbid people not in legal marriages from fostering or adopting children. Something about if you were single or co-habitating, you would be an unfit parent. (Well, what about having their own children, would that be stopped?!)

WELCOME TO FRANCE, MATE!!!

What in the wide, wide world of sports even IS that??!! Your comfort zone over the well-being of a child? Or is this a chance to make sure that gays can't adopt? (BAH!) What about all the stable-marriage people who foster children where one of them just happens to be a pedophile? (Well. They are married, so it must be all right?!) What about the parents who torture and kill their children? What about these potentially "unfit" parents? Ought we to sterilise them then? BAH! What about a grandmother who is co-habitating to maximise pension benefits and one of the the children just happens to be biologically her grandchild? Huh? What about that? What about the pair of caring parents who can provide a fantastic and stable life for a child but that they have comitted the "crime" of being gay, and intolerant twits have made certain that they cannot get married. Whose well-being is that all for, I'D like to know, because I'd be willing to bet that the children are the bloody last thing on the list.

And I wonder why...oh, let's not go there. I was about to say something very, VERY rude!

All of the above (save the last paragraph) to be read breathlessly and angrily, with high emotion. Then at the end you must burst into tears and contemplate taking up smoking so that you might smoke a cigarette a la Bette Davis to convey the depths of your turmoil and emotion.


6 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!