Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:17 p.m. - 2008-09-25
Yowza! Has it really been two days?!
I suppose that I ought to do a NaBlo to get back into the every day posting mode. I think that it is reeaally easy to slip out of the habit, at least if you are me. In my feeble defence/defense, I have been bustin' my metaphoricals at Orkplace. There are some Questions That Need Answers In a Hurry. I answer questions. No, it isn't customer service, I'd suck royally there. I don't have nearly enough talent or skill for there. Those people are saints! It is more...abstract, I suppose.

I hav been thinking of Subjects to Discourse Upon. Or Upon Which to Discuss. Hmmm...can't quite get the grammar there. 'Tis fine, as I have forgetten all the topics. Either that, or the ones that I remember are very potentially controversial. I can have very strong opinions, but I can get careless and accidentally stomp all over someone in a debate. Not very nice.

The other night Ned and I were having a Communication Discussion. I totally suck at communication but am a right bang-up at data exchange. So we were discussing why lately he doesn't seem to be hearing me and in the earnest process of trying to resolve the conflict, to get at the root causes and apply corrective measures, and trying so hard to understand what each other was truly saying---I GOT IT! I TOTALLY got what Ned was saying and it was so revelatory and hit me all at once and it was so mercifully simple that the whole "getting it" was hysterically funny. I howled and sobbed with laughter, choking out to Ned that I wasn't laughing at him, and when I had breath enough to explain that all of a sudden I "got" what he was saying, and then he saw the humour and joined in. Ah, if only all conflicts resolved so amicably. At any rate, we discovered that I actively listen on a higher level most of the time as I am able to process what I hear extremely well. Like, do any of you have 3-5 conversations at once and respond appropriately to all? Do you also have two telephone conversations at once? I can, but the latter is quite impolite so I do try to stay away from that. And the former is quite frankly unavoidable at times.

So. Turns out that I have a habit of delivering huuge amounts of information and expecting the recipient to be able to process it all as fast as I can. Not always possible. Ned can't actively listen to as much as I can so he has to try to be selective and just filter out the rest. Good to know.

And now for something completely different.

So. If this works, this is Biba's Pick of the Week for you all to share.


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!