Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:54 p.m. - 2008-09-02
Pee Ess can I be Canadian for a bit?
Finally I have a minute. A stolen minute. Although if it were near Jul, it might be a stollen moment...oh dear, I really am a twit...

At any rate. I've been thinking of how to tell of our adventures, but it all seems like droning, which is lovely if you are a bagpipe, or a dulcimer...but...a storyteller? So I've been thinking of sort of an outline/list form type thing. Zo!

1. Left home and went up to Maine. The sky was the bluest blue and the clouds were the puffiest white. Auspicious, non? It took me about 4.7 seconds to get into Holiday Mode.

2. By chance, the room we had in Portland was the same as we had had a couple of years ago. Thee most efficient loo ever!

3. Took the Cat over to Yarmouth. (NS) Biba was quite ill and very brave about it. I learned quickly to load Biba and Ned up with Dramamine (sp?) before a ferry.

4. Drove to Halifax. Mediocre hotel, lovely, lovely time there. The Citadel, the Harbour Hopper, the Maritime museum, Cow's Ice Cream...Biba wants to live there.

5. My renaming of the Canadian money. Quarters actually. Betty with a moose, Betty with the World, Betty pimping the Olympics, Betty with the Children of the Maple Leaf, Betty with a Bow (AKA Betty Saving the Boobies)...etc,

6. Out to a lovely (though as Ned said "overwrought") B&B at the end of NS, near enough to catch an early ferry to Argentia. The woman had a FORTUNE in antiques there, which is why I don't actually want to mention it by name.

7. Ferry to Argentia. (NL) 16 hours, a bright, sunny, beautiful day. Lots of seabirds, lots of whales and dolphins and porpoises. Late arrival to a B&B that used to be a convent. I ADORE the woman who works there. SO cheerful!

8. Pee Ess, anybody who maligns Newfoundlanders or Appalachians or actually even any peoples ( and this includes moi-meme in the maligners-not-to-be) must do research and study to find the truth of the matter. As I see it, of course... Because they are the salt of the Earth wonderful people who have hard knocks but continue on in the Brotherly Love way anyway. Appalachia and Newfoundland have a lot in common. Natural resources taken away to be sold to affluent areas while they themselves get not much of anything. ACH, I prosyletise. I'll bet anything that I spelled that wrong and used it incorrectly. But it is late so I forgive me. This once...

9. Went to Cape St.Mary's to see the Gannet rookery. Hatchery? Nursery? OH! Stunning! Travelled beautiful unpaved highway 90 or 91 also as well. Fun! Wheee!

10. On to St. John's where we stayed at the A Bon Esperance. Lovely place. We did all sorts of fun things in St. John's and also went on a Puffin cruise and saw so many seabirds. Cape Spears and Petty Harbour visits as well. I am in love with Petty Harbour and Biba is in love with Halifax...I love it all!!!

11. Onward to Terra Nova for camping. SO many mosquitos, really almost unbearable. Good thing that the tent poles were left behind! We stayed in an UBERdeluxe place with the nicest ever hosts instead! Especially nice as we came upon them by chance.

12. On to Corner Brook, the second largest city in NL. Incidentally did you know that Gander was laid out originally in the shape of a goose head? True! Corner Brook was different but I really did adjust after about 10 min. We had a brill time there walking parks and taking Biba to the fun/water park.

13. Off to Port-Aux-Basque to catch the ferry back to NS. Seabirds and souvenirs.

14. Nice ferry ride although the water was considerably more rough. Twice attempting to dock in Sydney unsuccessfully led to a night in the harbour at anchor, sleeping in our seats. Remember that camping gear? Came in handy!

15. Off to Pictou with a stop back in Antigonish. Pictou was brill as well. But the next morning off to catch the Cat back to Portland.

16. Back home. To find the housesitter MIA. To find out later that she was just fine and that she was even house-sitting elsewhere this weekend past. I feel appalled at her absence, but no real harm was done except for trust levels.

17. Picked up Mr. Dog this morning. Oh, it is good to have a dog in the house!

Next time I will write a random list of things that I loved on holiday. More specifically than "everything"!


4 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!