Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

7:01 a.m. - 2008-08-13
Yes, well...
Last night we went to see King Crimson. Yeah, I know. But I always did think that Adrian Belew had a sweet smile. They played a whole bunch of stuff that I have no idea of what it is. It sounded like Theater People music. You know, what plays at certain cast parties. I had a surprisingly good time, not to mention the free drinks. ( It's true, King Crimson may not be of my time. I just went along for the ride!)

Here is the thing...Although I know full well what Priveledged Male Status is, I don't subscribe to it. I don't resent the dudes for accepting what society just hands them, I just don't go along. The dude next to me thought that it was perfectly fine to spilll over into my seat. Just because I am not using every inch of my space doesn't mean that it is all right for you to take it. We all paid the same amount, didn't we? Well, all right it's true, we get comped a lot, but...So when the dude did his leg-pressing, I THWACKED him but good with my own leg and yelled 'Duuuude! Boundaries!!" Fairly well kept him out of my space.

I just can't see the point of it all. I did have in mind that if the dude had leg-pressed again I would have asked him "Would you press your leg up to a man like that?" (Seriously, there are some rare dudes that think that it is perfectly acceptable to browbeat a woman, but not a man. Can you imagine! Egalite, my peeps!) I like to have the odd inconsiderate dude be made aware of his discourtesy. I want to note that MOST dudes are QUITE charming and polite, at least here in the You, Ess, of Ay. So the occasional off one, I think, benefits from the spotlight being shown on his lapse of manners. If I am walking down a path, and a dude or two is/are coming in the opposite direction, I don't scuttle meekly out of the way. INTERCOURSE no! If the aforementioned dude should smack into me, well, things are settled verbally. I sometimes take up as much space as I can. It is interesting to watch people's reactions. (breakin' da law, breakin' da law!) Women seemed more shocked than men, actually. For the record, I simply detest when a woman meekly whispers "'scuse me" as she cedes any vestige of a right that common courtesy has given to her. Actually, I was in the Consumer Value Store the other day and they were re-stocking shelves. Every single time that I passed by a woman re-stocking, she'd say "Sorry..," I, being me, said "Why sorry? You didn't do anything! You are doing your job! You aren't even blocking the way. Save it for the time when you need it." I am too blunt by far. But who is going to teach our women and girls to stand up for themselves when they need it? I am not for abolishing common courtesy, oh no, by no means. But some are not taught these pleasant-making guidelines. Education, I say! Common courtesy for and by all!

Well, I ought to get off of my rant. I've tons to do. Probably won't do it, but there you have it.


3 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!