Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:22 p.m. - 2008-08-10
Bloviatin'...
Where were we, anyway?

This weekend was brill. I totally did nothing really. Lots of things, but on no one else's timetable. Saturday morning didn't go exactly as I had intended but it did go well. Did a bit of work down at the kirky then it was off to the butterfly festival. That was really brilliant! We ran into bunches of people that we knew but didn't feel forced to hang with them. (Right now I am stuffing Holland mints into my cakehole. Yum!) We ate vendor food for lunch, after the butterfly costume contest. Then off to the butterfly house. I totally loved it as did Biba. Who in fact, spotted some chrysalissen. With the butterflies hatched out. We saw caterpillars and learned that caterpillar poop is called "frass". I do like to keep the culture high, do I not?

We did some sweep netting in a meadow to catch all sorts of bugs. Grasshoppers and spiders for the most part. Ned looked quite dashing with his sweep net. It was amazing how many different kinds were out there. There was also this one Creepy Dad who kept fondling his daughter. Ugh! Rahther like some distant relatives of mine...

There was all sorts of green info at the festival and I really do think that I shall try to get some more native species growing in the back garden. Right now I have three (intercoursing) invasive species that seem ineradicable. Japanese Knotweed and Asiatic Day Lily. Or something like that. Oh, the Creeping Charlie, THAT is a menace. What I ought to do is to scatter turf seed that will choke out these little green horrors, but our soil doesn't support that very well. One thing that I am going to do for sure is to scatter the cilantro seed (now called coriander in seed form) throughout the lawn and hope that it grows next year. I'd really like a nice herb-y lawn.

After the festival I had a whacking great nap, really actually only 1,5 hours but it felt like more. Then up, puttering, evening things and then ned. And Ned. Hee!

Tody was sleeping in late, a very strange walk with Spot before church, church, home, lazing...

My neighbour is very, very drama prone. She is tall and cute and possibly quite intercoursed-in-the-head. She is always being the innocent victim of somebody or other. When she broke up with her last girlfriend, did the feathers ever fly! It was rahther like two desolate princessen, sobbing all round. She is now fighting with her next-doors. To the point where she put up a spite fence and sent a certified letter instructing him to have no more contact with her. Frankly, he's getting off lucky. This is why although I love many of my nabes, I have no wish to become BFFs with them. Oh, but at any rate, so I never got past her with Spot this morning. She totally cornered me for nearly half an hour! Can you imagine! DAMN my politesse!

It was ti-ty-totally rainy and thundery all day. I love that every now and then. It oddly enough makes for some spectacular birdwatching. I love looking out over the feeders during a pattery rain, watching the birds all fly in and out, grabbing a seed, jockeying for position at the suet feeder, things like that. I saw a very wet male cardinal ( the bird kind of cardinal!) who looked just grumpy. I could practically hear a little voice saying "Dang! I am SO intercoursing WET!" There were two male Downy Woodpeckers shoving each other round at the suet feeder. They all must need extra food during the rain because the wet might make them colder. Don't they operate at a much higher temperature or something like that?

Ned has been doing all the work tonight. He said that my "bloviatees" might miss me. heh. We never bloviate! I know that it's been a glorious weekend because I have no desire to escape to Workplace.


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!