Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:43 p.m. - 2008-07-28
As we rise to the challenge of our rivals...
Did this day ever turn out differently than I had thought! Still, it was a good day. I did some work at Workplace, which is always fun, except for when it isn't, and then I met up with Tanja during lunch. She had brought me a wee giftie of (now I have to think of how it is said..) chewy, there's the word, chewy Atomic Fireballs. I was telling her the other day or week or something, of how I adore Atomic Fireballs as sweets, plus who couldn't love the company's name---Ferrara Pan! Wheee! So she had found a whacking great box of this new thing which is Fireballs as jelly eggs. Powerful cinnamon, that! Totally brill! I nearly blew my head off! (That was quite a tangent, don't you think?)

Things were quieter in the afternoon, except that I accidentally stayed late at Workplace, so I rushed to pick Biba up from camp and then got her settled in at home. What I like to do on a Monday if Ned has nothing on, (on his calendar, sillies! I think that you all KNOW what I like to do when Ned hasn't got anything on!) I like to fire up the grill and cook all sorts of things to last through part of the week here and there. I roasted aubergines from the vegetable patch! And tomatos and garlic and yes, meats, and so that was something. I love to sit out with a book and a shaker of Flood Survivors and watch the fire not actually burn up the deck or the houses or anything. SO many birds!

Today at Workplace I was watching a female Hummingbird (rubythroated) sitting on a twig just grooming and ga-rooming! Gave me the fidgets just watching, but eventually she flew down to the Hostas, fighting the bees for whatever nectar that they make. The Hostas, not the bees.

Biba was so tired! Camp is wearing her out. She dissolved into tears at the dinner table because she couldn't remember how she holds her fork... I took her onto my lap and fed her like a baby bird (No, I didn't regurgitate into her mouth! *I* wasn't the bird! I was Fork Lady...)) and lo and behold, she calmed down and decided that she was indeed hungry and we all had a grand dinner. After which I promptly bathed her and tucked her in. I really think that she was asleep before her head hit the pillow. Or "pellow" as she says...

Then as it was only rahther darkish...oh who am I fooling, it was nautical twilight at best, I decided that I simply HAD to mow the meadow. It was really bothering me and I hadn't had a minute to mow it. So I did that. Undoubtedly I shall be either dismayed or delighted with the results. I did manage to not mow a renegade pea and two renegade squash, but I did have to pull up a late sprouting corn/maize. Oh, and I must add that I did a damned fine job with the mower sharpening, even I was impressed! SLICE! (Remember, I sharpened the thing in a dress a while ago, this Spring?)

Then Spot and I took a walk and then I had to do the washing up, among much eye-rolling. On my part. Can't rememebr why. Perhaps they were itching? The eyes, that is...

So that is the thrilling day that was mine. Actually I really, really do enjoy my silly mundane life. It never seems mundane to me. It seems as if it were one big adventure after the other. I am always delighted that I can rise to the challenge.


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!