Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

10:43 p.m. - 2008-07-19
Remember that thing about \"roasting\"? Ew.
Today was just such a day! I can hardly even think about it. First of all, remember how I had to get up at 5 am? Well, I did. I did manage to sneak in a bit of gardening, though. Then I went to this thing that I do only to find one poor forlorn volunteer there waiting for someone to come. (Taken out of context, that could be obscene! Yay!) So I got the ball rolling so-to-speak, and put in five very hard hours of hard work. In the sun. Have I ever mentioned how I am pale blue in the Winter and pale pink in the Summer? The sun is not a friend to my skin. And it was hot and sunny. At hour five I got told by a nurse that I was likely in the beginning stages of heatstroke and was unceremoniously sent home. Yay? But in the middle hours, I was beset by this lovely person who wants to have me not only plan but actually run, in person, their party and HAAAD to have me check out something riiight noooowwww and so I was to have left this gig for thirty minutes or so. Remember my share partner of last year and what a non-stop kveching PITA that she was? SHE was then going to be solo at this clambake for a WHOOOLE HALF HOOOUUURRRR! She just knew that she'd get sick or whatever. So I called for help, ( because heaven help them all, I was effectively in charge of this thing today!) and do you know how many people answered their 'phones? ZERO!!! Until I called Ned, and he and Biba rode in to the rescue. So Yrs Truly lives on. Plus I got some mesquite (is that said "mayss-QUITE-ee" ?) chunks for the grill out of the deal.

Remember how it was BLOODY HOT today? So Ned had an outdoor gig today. After my midday collapse, I decided that I was fit indeed to go (plus, angry bears and/or wild boars would not have kept me from going!) so off we went. Forch, friends had already set up a compound, (much like the famous although ill-fated Kennedys) so that was good. Unforch, there kept showing up friends who would camp in the compound. Forch, most were polite. Unforch, there was This Woman who was Simply Awful. (Is awful worse then dreadful? Whichever is worse, at any rate...) She kept talking, and since the pesky musicians were making so much NOISE, why she simply talked more loudly. And to add to her multinumerous attractions she had a mister/squirter bottle of water that she kept taking pot shots at unsuspecting people with. I finally remarked to Biba that "at least it wasn't burning acid..." and that was about all that with that. Again, much like the ill-fated Kennedys...

Remember how I mentioned that I need to learn how to say that tricky, seemingly unpronounceable word "no"? Seems that I am not so good at it. Practice, practice, practice!

Now I am trying to think of how to work the phrase "Bible and sword!" into casual conversation...


3 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!