Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

3:15 p.m. - 2008-06-25
Renegade peas...
Yes, that's correct, there are rengade peas, all over our back garden. Here and there, springing up joyfully...and pea-like. For the record, I really do like the way that pea plants look. Tiny reaching-out stems, but a sturdy stalk. I did plant peas, 'tis true, but not everywhere. What I thought I had planted as Sugar Snap Peas turned out to be Snow Peas. Hmm....I'll have to look up the blossom colours on those. There are little white-blossomed peas where I didn't plant, however. When I was mowing the meadow last, I ran over one, but it seems to have weathered mowing all right. There is one in the middle of the Orange flower bed, and just strewn lightly all over the back garden. Why, oh why, then can I not get the back garden infested with chamomile or English Lawn Daisies? I do miss them so! In Bruxelles, we were in a flat higher up, and I remember looking down at the neighbours's back gardens, sprinkled with tiny white dasies. Well, perhaps I might try some sort of Feverfew or something. At any rate, you've worked out who has planted all the renegade peas, haven't you? DING!! Correct, it was the birds! They've planted corn (maize) everywhere as well. (Corn here refers exclusively to maize.) The sunflowers that the birds have thoughtfully planted are starting to bloom. BoXx, I really really ought to do the picture posting thing, oughtn't I? (Pee Ess, I adore your writing style!!!)

Continuing on in the vegetative type (oops, meant to say vegetation-type) ramblings, I went to the farm early today, while there was still ice in the produce. I've decided that it is pefectly fine to take only what I can use. I was starting to dread all the produce proccessing, then I realised that I could simply take what I need and donate the rest to the charity giving. (Dawn breaks veeerrry sloowwly on my horizon...)

Also, remember when I said "Wheee, cilantro for everyone!"? Well apparently I was not joking. I simply must make some pico de gallo, but I have to get a jalapeno or two, and I haven't seen any anywhere ----OH! Never mind, we have a bodega in walking distance. No worries. OH! And the aubergines are in flower! That was a surprise! I really don't know how the carrots will do, as they really aren't hot-weather crops, but we'll see. I still haven't bought the perreniels that I need to fill in some spaces, but I suppose that I can get that done perhaps even today. I liked the lilies idea, Swimmmy!

What I'd really like is a nap!


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!