Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:29 p.m. - 2008-05-17
All ovah tha freekin' place!
Hmmm...mind gone blank...

I was looking at an advert, and I was pondering it. It said "Risk free advertising" etc. and I was wondering why one would be urged to risk something that was free. Then I realised "Risk-free", duh!

We went to a really nice place tonight, a friend's house. They are soo fun and funny! Their children are just so great, really like how children ought to be, not adults, but real genuine people who are interesting, and so very funny! Total laugh riots. It was simply the best, most soothing thing that could have been done. And tomorrow, if we are lucky, the same thing, but with different friends. Newish.

I feel like blankly staring at the screen. I'll be glad when I know that Bluey is home safely. I was thinking of stair-gasping again, but both Biba and Ned are quite knackered and so perhaps I might just do a bit of surfing, then follow their good example.

I was thinking about the concept of Ugly. What is ugly? I think that it is much more of a behaviour. Much moreso that a look. So many people say that they are ugly. I myself do so ( well, I think it) more often than I ought. Well, the ought number is actualy zero. Ugly is the way one behaves, which can make a pretty face unlikeable. Biba is quite beautiful (says her unbiased Mum) but I tell her that a person can look as beautiful as a princess, but if they act ugly and mean, they are ugly. I think what got me thinking of it was a postcard at PostSecret the week before last. An elderly woman, you can't even really see her hair, perhaps it is turbanned, walking by a big poster advert of a beautiful model and the secret was "I was beautiful too..." and I wanted to write in to say "You still are", but I don't actually know how to do that. Perhaps an e-mail to the site owner. I don't know. But there is this obsession with beauty as if it can only be had by youth. There are the older actresses who are admired for aging well all looking 20 or so years younger, due to various procedures. Is that beauty? Or is it fear? Why is this culture so afraid of aging? Of the elderly? If antiques are so valuable, why not moreso a long life well lived?

I saw a recent pic of Nicole Kidman, and do you know what? She looked like a human! She was smiling and her face was smiling with her! I thought at first how nice she looked then I realised that it was because her face was alive. Because she can't botox whilst pregnant. Frozen in pseudo-youth just doesn't cut it. Not for me. Why, oh why do we put such strictures upon ourselves? Why do we accept it? hmmm...I might be coming about this all wrong. There might be somthing I'm missing . (Ya think?!) Maybe those who have worked this all out are free from caring about all of the crap. Perhaps it is just the youth who make the loud noise.

This is getting too ramble-y and going nowhere. I think. I think that society places too high a value on external beauty and in the process cheats itself out of something far more valuable. I don't want Biba to miss out on that value, to end up with only something useless left in her hand. I think that age brings us the jewels that cannot be found anywhere else.

Oooh! Now the word "purricane" just popped into my head. My definition? A hundred purring cats. Send me all your definitions that you make up, I so loved the last time that we did this!


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!