Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

9:43 p.m. - 2008-03-01
This is for the birds...
First, the List.

Avian things that I like. Well, a few things. I could actually go on for a very long time!

1. When the starlings fight for dominancy. They flutter up in the air squeaking madly and batting at each other, then flutter down, the victor landing on the suet feeder and the not victor just fuckering off, I suppose.

2. When the full grown just-learnt-to-fly starlings make their baby "feed me" cries and the parents feed them yet. Demented!

3. When hummingbids zizz by, twittering madly. I love that!

4. When the Downy and Hairy woodpeckers come to the feeders and groove about on the lilac tree. They look like animated number sevens.

5. When the white-breasted nuthatch zooms madly down the tree headfirst.

6. The "chack! bee deeeee!" call of the grackles.

7. That there were 4! red-winged blackbirds at the feeders today.

8. The brightness of the cardinals. Both colour and call.

9. The goofy mob of house sparrows.

10.The way the kingfisher chatters and skims low on the canal.

11. The way the vultures groove and play on the thermals and updrafts.

12. Indian Runner Ducks! Everything about them!

13. The way brown pelicans line up and do Shore Patrol.

14. The call of gulls and other sea birds.

15. The cuuuuteness of puffins!

16. Everything chickadee!

17. That I fed a tufted titmouse by hand once.

18. How hawks fly with their legs and talons extended when they are swooping in on prey.

19. How mergansers seem to bark rahther than quack.

20. The way that mallards quack as if they are guffawing over a good joke.

21. Magpies! And rooks!


Well, Ned is home and I confess that things just feel better. Crazy me, almost 9 years of marriage and I still adore my husband! My sister and I took the girls and Spot up to his best friend's house, where they are maple sugaring. It was tons of fun, and we got to see the whole process, and had a lovely visit as well! I am filled with love and optimism and I wish the same for you all!


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!