Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

8:56 a.m. - 2007-11-17
Uplifting, much like a new bra...
Oh my goodness (or even my badness!) All these beautiful girls, all worried and thinking that they aren't good enough or that they are doing something wrong. See, that's why I am glad to be shallow, shallow shallow! What would I say to these girls if I were their mother? Well, they'd have a horrible mother. Perhaps a sister, yes that's better.

Dear sisters,

It makes me sad that the world can buffet you about and have you doubt your course. Of course this is not all the time, I realise that, but I hate to have fears or sadness in any of you.

B, you have been called to an extremely difficult discipline. I know quite a bit of this, and I can say that what you are feeling is quite normal, even strengthening. Having the raw talent is not enough, sadly. It comes down to whether you have an "internal, highly-motivated ass-kicker", whether you can take direction, and also, it boils down to whether you have the kind of personality that a director might be looking for. I have seen many, many a very talented person get passed over for somebody who has less talent but has the "cheerleader" personality. Sometimes it is just as small as what you look like. You can't make up that undefinable spark that will get you noticed even in swing, but you can build relationships, and a reputation that will help get you further. Don't give up, not unless it seems the correct thing to do. Don't ever lose faith in yourself, no matter wht the world slings at you. You are still young. Pay those dues, but don't forget to have fun!

A, you are such a beautiful girl, and doing so much to help people in the world. I was shy as well, and I never could ask people out. But I learnt to hide that behind the Wall o' Flirt. But that isn't for everyone. All that I can say is that when I met Ned I was shy and scared of men but he had a girlfiend, so he was safe! And you can see where that went! It is not bad to be shy. But sometimes you have to place yourself in the vicinity of your one that you want. It is not really hard work, just scary. But always remember, you are not auditioning for them, they are auditioning for you! If they can't work that out, then they don't deserve to be cast! I think that you are just wonderful.

S, I can't even tell you how proud that I would be of you if I were your mother or your sister. I am proud of you even so! What you are is a Study in Courage. Bravery might be daunting to some, but to most it is quite attractive. I admire that you moved from a difficult rut to this new place, and I firmly believe that you will do very well. Plus, only think of all that fresh meat! And besides, you never know where the Eagle will land! No, you are brilliant, and cute, and funny and you are an incredible writer! Just brilliant, I think! So the fault is not in you. Sometimes it takes a while to find the best, but it is worth it to wait. Just incredibly frustrating at times.

There is a very old song by a band from the 80s called "Moving Pictures" and their song is called "What About Me" and I had a friend and we would sing that all the time and believe it. Silly us! We were in our early teens. Now I can laugh but it felt real at the time. None of us knows what is in store for us, but I so do know that to stop striving is a sin. I'll tell you a secret. I am judged "not good enough" for America, but do you know what? America is not good enough for me, then! I am not talking about the people, they are absolutely wonderful and not this glorious, glorious land, no I am talking about the airless consumeristic bubble that calls itself society. Bah! I make my own path. Sisters, those who follow the herd? Boring, boring, boring! I am very glad that none of you do. In my family, we just say "Chin up, plough through, never mind the mess!" and that is what I hope that you will all do.

This is incoherent and also full of typos. I shall correct for that later, but Biba and I have a DAY waiting for us!


2 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!