Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

8:33 p.m. - 2007-09-10
The re-cap, cap-cap-cap
Yes, well, as promised, a recap of the weekend! mmmm! ice lolly!

Well, we went down Friday and got a rahther late start. Threeish. So we didn't actually get there in time for dinner. We stopped in Maryland at this wonderful restaurant that was all seafoody and go-for-it and delicious food. I had a crab cake sandwich that was so delicious that I really don't think that I'll ever have better. Ned had shrimp and Biba had a cheeseburger. Well, actually she ordered a cheeseburger and proceeded to not eat it. She hasn't starved yet so I don't worry as much anymore. We got to the suites late, but not terribly so. My sister got down at eleven or so. Oh! taken out of context, that's almost obscene! Wheeee!

In the morning, I sat out on the balcony/porchy thingy for a bit and then we all went down to breakfast. Waffles each morning for me. Don't you miss being able to get them just anywhere anytime? I do. And frites. I can't tell you how much I miss frites. Anyway, we rented bicycles and (am I repeating myself? It feels that way..) We bicycled all over Assateague Island. We went first to the lighthouse which some of us climbed and some of us (Biba) wisely refrained. We saw wild ponies in two places. They were adorable. They let the egrets ride on their backs. It was beautiful. Then we went back to Chincoteague (Island) and had lunch. I had clam strips. mmmmm! Then we went back to the suite for 15 minutes of rest before we went on a boat cruise.

The cruise was spectacular!! I looove boat rides, and I never get seasick. We saw tons of birdlife, and we saw---are you ready? Dolphins! At first far off then we went a bit closer, and then they came closer. Really close! One had a curled dorsal fin, and it came so close and looked at us and was always checking us out. Apparently that doesn't always happen. We knew when the last peek was, because its dive was deep---we saw its perfect tail! It was wondrous! We didn't see ponies, but no matter, as we had already seen them.

Then back to the suite to get ready for dinner. We went to a place that we had been to before, and that was delicious. There was an all-you-can-eat, but seriously? I can't eat all I can eat. I had softshell crabs with crab inmperial stuffing. Also corn and coleslaw. I actually took the girls home early as the service had been quite slow and they could barely keep their eyes opened. We had come in in the middle of a rush, so it really wasn't their fault. The restaurant's, that is.

The next morning I was up at 5:30 because my BIL was going surf fishing and I wanted to go as well. It was fun. He fed crabs (no fish, and the crabs were eating the bait) and I did yoga in the sand at sunrise which sounds quite romatic, and it was, sort of, until I fell over. That was fun though. Back it was to the suite for second breakfast, swimmming until lunch (cream of crab soup!) and then we were on our way.

Very satisfying. So satisfying that I forgot to put on shoes this morning and then went out. Can you imagine! I've booked us into another getaway at the end of the month. I've booked some rooms at a mansion that has been turned into an inn.


1 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!