Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

1:03 p.m. - 2007-09-01
I'm, awake. I swear.
I was going to update this morning but then I went back to sleep. In the guest room, of course. I really don't know what that habit is all about, but the back guest room is really nice and peaceful, and perfect for taking naps.

We've a massive party to go to today, which actually reminds me that I really need to get started on our Autumn Open House. But thaaaaat's too much like woooorrrrk! Eh. I cannot imagine why I am so tired. Too much sleep, perhaps.

Yesterday I did get a lot done with the produce. I made that cherry tomato confit, and that was easy. As I started out the pico de gallo, (which turned out splendidly) I found a mushier tomato, just a bit on the too ripe side, so I made a tiny batch of sauce. I added the odd cherry tomato and a paste tomato, then a small onion, or maybe it was a shallot, and some herbs. It came out rahther sweet, but no matter, it will be used up soon. I pickled some beets, and parboilt the okra prior to freezing. I tied up sage, thyme, anise hyssop, lemon balm, and something else, and I ...uh... what is the word, it means to take off from the stem and put into containers...I that-ed for three kinds of mint that I had drying. The parsley is not looking as if it is drying well. That was all the productive work.

Then my sister came over and we took the girls gadding about. I went to my former favourite designer for whom I have lost all respect's studio and I bought a couple of things, but only because they were necessary. I am such a hypocrite. The we went up to this tiny little fun town where we go often in the Winter for pub grub and single malts. We didn't go to that pub, but we did a lot of shopping. I bought most of a case of a pinot noir that I am late on the bandwagon with and am having trouble tracking down. Also one recommended by Earl, but I found it to have a bitter start, so I'll not mention it here by name. Lovely things for the girls, and a flower press for me. I've decided that I shall either become creative, or have masses of dried vegetation build up. Before I toss it. Them.

I took the girls and we played here whilst my sister did things here and there. Then we all went back to her house for dinner. Supper? I haven't the slightest. I've noticed that a lot of people say "supper" but I just can't bear to. Biba ate everything on her plate! A first. Honey was the helper.

And we never even got to the peaches place! Can you imagine!


1 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!