Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

8:17 a.m. - 2007-08-31
Call me Fofo
I got so much lovely, lovely produce yesterday! I tried to wheedle an extra garlic, but that was no good. I got these lovely yellow cherry tomatoes, and also some red ones as small as the tip of my little finger. Some paste tomatoes, so I shall have to try that out, and *thee* best lot of okra that we've had. And blackberries to add to my fruit compote, and...ummm...flowers. Oh, and tons of herbs! Which reminds me, I really must get them onto the drying rack today.

What else for today? Well, there are those tomato recipes from the NYT, which I really do want to try. And pico de gallo, deffo. My sister is coming over today with my neice, and we're going to a public place to get peaches. Can you smell the warm peach cobbler yet? And other things as well. Oh, that sounded funny, taken out of context. I meant that we'd get other things at the public place.

The farm that I go to is a CSA organic farm. CSA = consumer supported agriculture. Everybody benefits. The farm is beautiful, so there's the scenery aspect. The farmer gets paid no matter what, because we buy shares before the growing season starts. We benefit because you cannot even believe how much wonderful, wonderful produce we get. I've a huge half-watermelon in the big cold thing in the kicthen. And flowers!! I've made up my share price in flowers alone. My share partner is quite lazy, and a complainer to boot. She cannot be bothered to go out and pick (we alternate weeks) but she complains endlessly about how little there is. I simply adore her, though! She's an elegant little creature.

Oops! Wandered off there for a bit. Physically, that is. Bit surprised that this is still here...The train of thought has deffo derailed. Here is some randomosity. When I walk without Spot, I see more wildlife. The other day I saw a fawn by the side of the path. I bleated to it (kind of like a lamb, it seems to calm them) and it went back to grazing. I looked into the woods and there was its twin curled up between two trees. Never saw the mother, though.

The South African news that I read reports that the most famous foul-up on the planet tested positive for drugs at her Utah rehab thingy. I am very glad that drugs really hold no appeal for me. Overspending, yes, overindulging, no. Because of the control freak thing.

Well, I've loads to do, so I'm off!


1 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!