Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

6:34 a.m. - 2007-06-13
I'm not Rachel!
I made a really excellent salad last night. So excellent, that I shall now write it down, in case anyone wants to try it. I am very loosey-goosey in the kitchen, and also with words, and I am feeling very goofy this morning, so the words may suffer. You can just re-write it later if you'd like.

You will need:

Fresh sweet corn, still on the cob.

Fresh ripe tomatoes.

One of those onions which are purple. Red onions are they called?

A tin of black beans, nothing added to them.

A lemon or else two limes, room temperature.

A clove or two of garlic. Make sure that it is fresh, not all dried out.


Now, me hearties! Husk your corn, remembering NOT to cook it in any way. Take thee now a sharp knife, and wield it well so as to cut the corn from the cob and into a large bowl. Last night I used five ears of various sizes. Why are they called ears? Anybody know? I don't.

Chop your tomatoes (I used three small) with a sharp knife (wield with vigor!) and add ye them, along with their juice, to the bowl.

Drain the beans, and add them.

Chop the onion (I used about a third of a really big one) coarsely, add to the bowl.

Squish the garlic clove (really, mincing by hand is so time-consuming...) and add that.

Juice the citrus and add. Stir. Muchly.

Serve in a lettuce leaf cup.


I was thinking that if I had had cilantro, I would have definitely added that. Also, this is one the those things that gets better with age, as the flavours all intermarry. It will keep for 3-5 days, but who could keep it around that long?! MMMMMM!

Hmmm...that made me hungry! Guess what's for lunch?!


0 comments

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!