Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry See Fifi!

6:45 a.m. - 2007-03-30
The Ghost in Me
I had meant to have posted last night but...I did not.

Ah...I was stressed out yesterday and so naturally I needed music to see me through. I was going through all these 1980s CDs. I really adore music from then, even though I've moved off a bit since then. I was quite the new wave/punk child. At any rate, I found some Psychedelic Furs. Oh, I did adore them! I was playing "The Ghost in You" and thinking of how it really reminds me of my Mum. She's always been associated with swingy, breezy tunes in my mind. She used to tear about in a Fiat Spider (was that Spyder?) with the tunes blasting. Del Amitri's "Roll to Me" reminds me of her as well. Although she's quite the Elvis fan. No, Costello, you sillies! Hearing Richard Butler growling reminded me of when I was in school, and my friend Aimee and I used to send each other contrabond through the post. I have no idea of why we didn't each just get our own, but we must have had our reasons. I used to call her "My son Aimee" and she'd call me "Her Dear Old Dad". (I know I really don't know what was up with that.) I think her school must have been more draconian than the one I was attending at the time. I don't know what's happened to her, but I do have fond memories. The Furs, The DKs...as I recall, she had it rather badly for Jello. I think about those days sometimes. We were so young. We wanted to grow up so badly. We wanted to be freeeeeee! Biba will get to that age. Who will she be listening to? I hope that she will have as much fun as I did. One thing for certain, she will not have as peripatetic of a life as I did.


1 comments

Listening to : Why, the Furs, of course!

Thinking : Ich liebe Vreitag!

Overheard : "Well, 50%, that would be somewhere in the middle, I'd think..."

Cavalry - Apache

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!